We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern decor, authentic meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tha Kitchen

Tha Kitchen
2 Millar Court | 43 Station Road, Kenilworth CV8 1JD, England
01926853963
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 47 restaurants in Kenilworth
Price range: $36 - $36
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: A Thai owned and run favourite in Kenilworth, Tha Kitchen offers a wholly natural menu of colourful Thai cuisine. Sizzling rice and noodle dishes are made to time-honoured recipes, whilst other Tha Kitchen favourites include fiery jungle curries and fresh seafood. From the bar, a selective international wine list complements the delicate, fragrant flavours of the dishes. A contemporary, clean-cut dining room features an expansive beach mural and the staff provide traditionally excellent Thai service with a smile.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“modern decor, authentic meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I liked the food here very much. I live just around the corner so pop in on week nights for some grub. Good portions for the price and good to tske your friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    105
    43
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The worst Thai ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I have to say, it is very rare that I read good restaurant reviews on Trip advisor and it turns out to be so wrong.
I think that they should be ashamed of the food quality and the prices that are charged for the portions.
First of all, the Tom Yum soup was the worst I ever had in my life. It is no way near the real taste and it was impossible to finish it as it was so sour.
The mains – the portions were so small, we just couldn’t believe this is a main course. Also, how can you charge £12.95 for a Stir fried mixed seafood dish that comes with no rice and is not enough even for one person?
The taste of the mains was not more than average, very disappointing.
I would not recommend this restaurant and we won’t be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thaworn H, Owner at Tha Kitchen, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
You must have liked your meal a little bit as you told my manager that it was good and you left a £5 tip - you even finished all your dishes. There are 2 sides to every story and I suspect that having travelled to Thailand a lot you were comparing us and our prices to Thailand where everything is grown locally, but our food has to flown around the world before it lands on your plate. You must have noticed the opposite effect in Thailand when you bought Californian wine to go with your meal.
Try some other Thai restaurants in the UK and you will see that we are good value.

Regards Tha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Thai food in Kenilworth”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had our meal mid week. Restaurant was quite busy. Good selection on menu - food was tasty and we sent clean plates back to the kitchen! Service was prompt. Very good value for money. Parking close by which is handy.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I had a brilliant meal here with friends. Happy, frienly staff. Would recommend the Thai pancake for pudding!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Really good quality Thai restaurant, the pork salad starter was especially good, reminded me of the food in Bangkok. Very friendly staff also, will definitely be going back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tha Kitchen also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Tha Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tha Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.