We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Peacock Hotel to your Saves list
The Peacock Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's self is very much a three star property which is fine however there are elements in which the hotel underperforms.

My room for example smelt of damp and this damp was evident in the bathroom. Although shower was hot, water came out at a dribble. Some areas of the room and bathroom need a makeover. My room was also cold even with hearing ramped up.

Good points are - service is decent, wifi is free and fast, ample free parking and breakfast is good.

My colleague stayed in a room in the actual main building and wasn't too complimentary!

I think the hotel needs to sort out the issues in the room and give a bit of attention to the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    69
    40
    38
    36
See reviews for
22
79
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well my wife and I stayed at the hotel in April 2013. The room although not huge was clean and comfortable. Great value for money but I had booked through late rooms .com so it was half the listed price. The shower was a little bit of a let down as the water pressure was very low. The breakfast was included and this was excellent as was the service from the staff. We ate one evening at the Coconut Lagoon I would highly recomend if your visiting Keniworth and looking for good food give this a try 10/10.

Room Tip: Free car park to rear of the hotel. Lots of stairs to many rooms so be sure to tell them you need a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

i stayed on sat 23rd march 2013 for just one night.this hotel is very special!from the reception staff who make you feel so welcome - to fantastic menu in the coconut lagoon and the food quality- there is nothing at all which is not absolutely excellent. friendly staff... clean contemporary room. with a comfortable bed.very large tv to watch,and had a lovely night to sleep after visiting kenilworth....clean and stylish in the bedroom and bathroom.

the breakfast was a wide variety, i would possibly return next month.

Room Tip: book straight away to the peacock hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The staff are friendly and efficient. Booked at short notice so we got a good discount and were upgraded to a Club room. Unfortunately we were disappointed with the room. Although a good size it was showing many signs of wear, with cracks in the wall and missing wallpaper. The shower door was tricky to open and the water had to be turned off mid shower to allow it to drain before overflowing. We were woken several times in the night by loud creaking of floorboards as the persons in the room above walked around. We would have complained at check out but someone was already sounding off. Great possibilities here but needs a makeover. Keep the staff though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

OK....my feelings about the Peacock are really mixed. Start with the good bits. The Resturant was great, mostly Indian food but that is the theme of the hotel. The staff were great, always willing to help and interested in the customer. My room unfortunatly was tiny....I had a double room and there really wasnt any space that wasnt unfilled with furniture.....felt very cramped. The corridors were cold and it did take ages for the hot water to come through for the shower, but I was at the end of a corridor. I would stay again saying all that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ok so its not the Ritz, but I had a very pleasant stay whilst travelling on business. The room was a good size and clean, the staff were very welcoming to me and I felt very at ease and relaxed.

Really enjoyed the fantastic meal at the restaurant, so many different dishes and flavours, it was worth going there for that alone.

I would go back.

Room Tip: I always like to stay in a room close to reception when travelling on business (as a lone female) bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Due to the reports on this site I was going to cancel, was I glad I did'nt.
On arrival I was greated by a friendly, efficient receptionist. She explained the details of the hotel and checked me in to room 104. What a room, it was large with a king sized comfortable bed, a lovely couch and all that I required to have a good nights sleep. Don't get me wrong the room was a bit tired and could do with a bit sprucing up. It was spotless as was the bathroom. The food in the restaurante was OK. It was Indian type food but I am sure you could get what you wanted. One gripe, they had run out of draught beer and I had to make do with lager. Car parking was safe and off road. I would certainly use the hotel again. It just goes to show, never believe all you read. I am a frequent traveller and stay in hotels at least once a week so I know what I am writing about.

Room Tip: Ask for room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Hotel

Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peacock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.