We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant gastronomic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne Kenilworth

Loch Fyne Kenilworth
High Street | The Clarendon House, Kenilworth CV8 1LZ, England
01926 515450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 47 restaurants in Kenilworth
Price range: $57 - $103
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant gastronomic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Situated in the historic 'end' of Kenilworth this venue continues to delight. On a Tuesday evening in January (29th) this place was buzzing. Having dined out in Kenilworth the previous night at The Cross, this restaurant was the perfect compliment to impress my party of six including 3 high ranking officers from the Brazilian Navy. They are well used to fish on their menu and were impressed at the fresh choices offered by Loch Fyne. Our Waitress was knowledgeable, conversational and engaged with us in a relaxed but professional manner adding to our experience. Our food, from the appetisers through starters to mains were sublime and perfectly prepared. The wine on offer complimented the menu and we thoroughly enjoyed the option to complement our choices with scallops and prawns. Perhaps I'm biased but I've eaten here on a number of occasions and all have been a real treat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    54
    79
    39
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing on this occasion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We're fond of good fish, and Loch Fyne often serves very good fish. Each year it does a special Burns' Night celebration which is justly popular. This year, it was full as usual, the piper played well, the "addressing the haggis" was good and the atmosphere positive.

However, service was slow and inattentive while the food was only adequate. Yes, being busy that may not be surprising but that should not be an excuse -- they had time to plan for it after all.

Starters were good. The fishy mains were pretty good but my steak was very poor -- fatty and with almost none of the promised sauce. Suites were mixed, with the sticky toffee pudding very good but the special cranachan being mainly cream with few raspberries and almost no whisky or oats.

There are times when the food is excellent, and we've had very good meals at Loch Fyne. But this wasn't the first time we've been somewhat disappointed and reluctantly we'll be leaving it off our list of regular restaurants for a while to give it chance to recover.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A very pleasant lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loch Fyne restaurants do 'what they say on the tin'; pleasant surroundings, fresh food, friendly service. My friend and I had the (ubiquitous in eateries now) Tai fishcakes to start and whilst he had the fish pie I had the line caught cod and chips. I was disappointed that my favourite starter, whitebait, was missing from the menu this time as I can never find any in the shops (why is that??) and rely on Lock Fyne for them as a treat! We both enjoyed the meal and it was good value. I shall revisit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Meal. Good Atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

On a Tuesday evening in January, this place was surprisingly busy which created a good atmosphere that I hadn't expected on a week night.

I had the prawn and salmon soup to start which was tasty.

I have read previous reviews that complained of the small portion sizes. The restaurant must have taken notice. Our main meals were plenty big enough. I got so many fries, I couldn't finish them.

The fish was delicious and pan-fried perfectly.

Our waitress was very friendly - as were all of the staff we encountered.

We had a 25% off voucher so this made the price acceptable.

This restaurant wasn't out of this world, but it was nice and I would go again (with a voucher :-).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“left restaurant hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate here on 12th Jan 2013,the weather was freezing cold, so after making the effort
to leave the hotel where we were staying,
to go out on such an awful night, we were looking forward to a nice meal
However,It was such a big let down.
That being said, I must add, the staff were very nice, & the meal didn't take long to arrive,
We were the only two people in the restaurant, so that wasn't really a suprise.
HOWEVER, the portions were SO small.
What was laughingly called " fishcakes " looked like garden peas had been rolled in
breadcrumbs, & then fried...so tiny were they.
The main course...which my husband thought was another starter, consisted of a bit of fish,
that looked like a minnow, the extra veg which was £3 odd had 2 little florets of broccoli,12 peas,
& less than an inch of carrot, cut into 3 slices. We had the grand total of 9 twice baked chips,
which were also at a ripoff price.
Now, as we live in Scotland, we eat at Loch fyne restaurants a lot..but never ever have we had such small amounts of food, for such large amounts of money,& we won't be going back.
We got back to the hotel, where we wolfed down some oatcakes & cheese we had brought with us.
I notice other people are saying the portions are too small on this site...time for the management
& chefs to take note me thinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Kenilworth also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne Kenilworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne Kenilworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.