We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bakery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Bakery
Save
You added The Old Bakery to your Saves list
12 High Street, Kenilworth CV8 1LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing too much trouble”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Met up with family on Saturday night. Stayed in the Old Bakery. The accommodation was great - couldn't fault it. We were made to feel extremely welcome. My husband has coeliacs and they went to trouble to get in gluten free beer and gluten free breakfast items. The bar was really busy and friendly and the breakfast was really well cooked with such a lot of choice

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
17
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Old Bakery is an excellent place to stay for business and pleasure. The staff and owners are very welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and scrupulously clean. The bar is very good. Unfortunately they do not serve food (apart from a very good breakfast) but there are plenty of very good places to eat in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Old Bakery is in the old part of Kenilworth, which is a nice quiet location. The rooms are extremely well presented, the hosts are very welcoming and the breakfast is second to none!

Also if you enjoy a good pint in a proper pub then it's not very far to go as the Old Bakery serves some excellent ales.

Will we be staying again? Yes!

Would we recommend it to anyone? Yes!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We chose Kenilworth as a convenient place to meet up with a grandson who is at Coventry Uni.
The Old Bakery was a great choice .it is situated in the delightful old town close to good restaurants ( Harringtons recommended ) and the impressive castle.
Unusually the B and B has a busy bar serving excellent beers and wines where you can swap a yarn or two with the genial host .
The bedrooms do not have the character of the front of the building but are modern ,well furnished , have quality toiletries and big comfy beds .
The breakfast was excellent and all the staff were friendly and helpful .
Having a big car park at the rear of the building was another plus point.
Definitely a place to stay at if you are looking for accommodation in this part of the West Midlands.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

You can't go wrong with this place, it's clean, friendly and the customer service is excellent. Rooms are a little bit small, but cosy and clean. The breakfast is all made to order and the range of real ales and whiskey is great. Wifi is also fast and free.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

Stayed here for a friends wedding. The room was very comfortable and breakfast buffet in the morning was second to none. All the staff were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. I left some clothing in my room, which the owner kindly posted back to me. Could not recommend more!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, North-West, South Africa
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

Spent a great time here while in the area for a family wedding. From the fabulous buffet breakfast, to the super rooms and the evening bar...it was all just great! Location is great for walks to the castle or into town...great spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Bakery

Address: 12 High Street, Kenilworth CV8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are staying overnight in the immaculate accommodation or enjoying a drink in the relaxed friendly bar you will experience a warm welcome and level of service at The Old Bakery you rarely find, in this era of faceless hotel chains and conveyor belt service. We are situated in the old town part of Kenilworth near Kenilworth Castle, Stoneleigh Park and the University of Warwick. We are particular about our accommodation, proud of our freshly cooked breakfasts and passionate about our bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Bakery Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.