We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled fish wafting through the night air of Town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Loch Fyne Fisheries

Loch Fyne Fisheries
High Street, Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Grilled fish wafting through the night air of Town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrived at our pre-booked table at 7.15pm Monday 2 Dec 2013. Finding some where to park was a nightmare. Although there were parking spaces available, once you pull up and looked at the street sign-it would invariably state 'RESIDENT PERMIT HOLDERS ONLY 5 to 10pm'. That was no use to us since we booked for 7.15pm. We drove down several streets only to find the same sign in each street and road. The High Street that the restaurant was situated on definitely was not motorist friendly. Finally, after driving up and down for 15 minutes we spotted a space just enough to fit a car and hurried to the restaurant.

The restaurant was within a converted church and had full of character with lots of carved wood in the décor and building.

The manager took us to a table and later a friendly waitress took our order. We ordered the 'Fruit of the Loch' which consisted of: Lobsters, crevettes, and langoustines starter for 4 people there were 4 oysters as well which we requested to be done in Tempura batter with 6 extra oysters. The Platter came out on a bed of ice and the shell fish were all cold. Not quite what we expected. I like my food hot. At least the oysters were 'hot'. The oysters tasted great.

My son ordered Seafood Tagliatelle and his girl friend had the Scottish Rope-Grown Mussels whilst me and my wife had the Seafood Grill: Scottish salmon fillet, gilt-head bream, Scottish scallops, whole king prawn and Scottish rope-grown mussels, with new potatoes, spinach and chilli & coriander butter. The main course were all cooked to perfection and the bottle of Chablis was a fine accompaniment to the meal.

Overall, the meal was flavoursome and tasty.

However, at times it seems that the chef's were over-stretched with cooking the meals on time and delivering them out to us the hungry diners. At one stage the manager was clearly upset with the chef's delays and had to enter the open plan kitchen to take charge of the orders and help out.

If you do not mind having to find some where to park your car or if you were to take a taxi or walk there, then it is a good place for Seafood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    38
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I recently visited loch fyne in Gosforth with my 2 grand daughters, on arrival we were greeted and shown to our table by a very pleasant young girl.The food was quite good and my grandaughters ate it all. However during the meal there was a change over in staff it was all down hill from then. The guy was very unpleasant not one smile please or thank you even the children remarked it was as if we were doing him a favour being there.Has put me off returning

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Has improved since my last visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Went in a party of 6 and everything was good, Our server was good, nicely efficient, Whilst there were long waits in-between courses that suited us as we were in no rush, their Xmas menu is excellent value at £19.95 for 3 courses plus a glass of fizz. It's hard to pick faults , it does lack a bit of personality but it is a chain, you do feel that but a good one. I wouldn't rush back but I would recommend it s one of the better venues in Gosforth.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent customer services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I visit this resturant regularly. Food has always been fresh and well cooked. One of the last visits we decided to have breakfast. We were the only people there which was a bit weird but the smoked haddock was delicious. Our waitress told us when I went to pay that the breakfast was complimentary as we were the 1st customers of the day ! BUT wheelchair users beware- the outside lift is very tempermental esp in the rain. We have tried to get into LF on a few occassions and had to abandon to the Brandling instead :(

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Slooooww service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you have all day to spend here, this is the place for you.

The service was extremely slow. We had to wait for a long time just for the bread then another 20 minutes for olives. The starters probably arrived an hour since we have sat down, the same goes for mains. We didn't want to stay for desert as we had to leave. The bill also took a very long time to arrive.

I think the food was nice but the waiting was not particularly worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Fisheries also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Loch Fyne Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loch Fyne Fisheries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.