We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solomons

Solomons
Denton Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE5, England
0191 274 2323
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Another excellent night at Solomon's. Service first class and the food delicious. A really lovely evening the restaurant was very busy and had a lovely atmosphere. We will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    36
    12
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely terrible visit.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

I am a regular customer at this restaurant but after this certain visit I can 100% say that I will not be visiting here again. I was celebrating my 21st birthday with a takeaway from Solomons which I have done before yet to my disgrace I found a hair in my Rogan Josh which I can clearly add was neither mine nor my husbands. I rang the restaurant to tell them I will be returning for a refund which I cannot complain about as the bar staff (one lady in particular) handled really well as I had no issue with her. I then returned the hair from my food to the manager who just looked at me and said what food shall I get ready for you? To which I replied I do not want any food as you have now put me off eating. So he said well what do you want? (EXCELLENT MANAGEMENT SKILLS) I then stated I wanted a refund which he offered no full refund/ vouchers for any inconvenience just the money for the curry WOW! I'm not usually one to complain but im a regular and should have been treated that way so thanks to this visit they have lost vital customers. The manager needs to learn how to manage properly no issue with the waiters or bar staff but the chefs need a talking to and they need to invest in hair nets.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Newcastle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. It's a constant here... Always a great meal. I live just up the street from here and it's alwaysa massive treat to go

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wish we had gone here ages ago !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went here a couple of weeks ago with a large group food and service were first class even though we were a group of more than 12 all ordering different things
Went again just with family last week and superb once again never seen a larger mixed tandoori kebab starter and the staff could not have been friendlier
Good value too around £20 a head with a couple of drinks
It's going to be a regular haunt from now on !

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“8pm table ready at 10.20om”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Shocking, had to wait 2.5hours for our table booked @ 8pm. I'd have walked out but it was a family birthday booked by other family members. Average food. No apology, I've cooked better food in my own kitchen. Will never go back here. People were walking away after waiting ages for take outs.
Clearly they over booked due to greed and fit as many people in as possible. If this was the other end of town they'd be less popular. Lack of decent competitor is all that keeps this joke of a restaurant open

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solomons also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Solomons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solomons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.