We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beautifully formed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bangla, East Boldon

Cafe Bangla, East Boldon
Station Approach | East Boldon, Newcastle upon Tyne NE36, England
0191 519 0929
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
South Shields
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On a quiet Monday evening, had a beautiful contemporary indian meal. Good service, wide range of meals, that bit different. New slant on the chilli lime dish with the poppadoms, very subtle. Not the usual Ocean Road portion size but more than adequate. Worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    11
    7
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birtley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You'll want to come back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Me and my partner have returned several times since our first visit at Cafe Bangla as we simply fell in love with the food. The atmosphere in this small but lovely decorated restaurant is very friendly and you're treated like a special guest from the moment you enter the place. The staff is very friendly, too, and always spot on. I also very much appreciate the fact that the chef himself takes his time to see if you're happy with the service.
Even if the place is booked out you don't have to wait long until your food arrives. Every dish contains a unique arrangement of fresh veg and the smell of the food is absolutely inviting. It looks, smells and tastes outstandingly good! Just writing about it makes me crave for more.

My girlfriend and I simply love returning to this restaurant as we are always surprised and fascinated over and over again by the variety of dishes, the friendliness of the team, the creativity of the chef. Cafe Bangla has certainly become one of our favourite places for excellent food in the Tyne and Wear region!

What I don't understand is the negative comments on here. I've been to the restaurant the same night they had the film guys in. The waiters were friendly as usual and also informed customers that the only people who were filmed were actors which they had in. The 'bright' lights were not even half as bright as described - in fact it was only ONE very small light on a stand that was even dimmed through a cover. None of the customers was filmed that night. The staff explained that this was for legal reasons - apart from that, anyone who knows how to post a review on TripAdvisor should also be able to use google and figure out that the films guys would need a release form for using images of customers! We had a good chat with the film crew and other customers who were at Cafe Bangla the same night and just like us, they found it rather interesting to have a quick look 'behind the scenes'.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“outstanding modern Indian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

very different menu from the normal 'English Indian food'
great use of spices and flavours
nice portion sizes and friendly staff in a great small modern restaurant
a great find locally and a must for people that want something different
will definitely return and recommend

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Nice food, contemporary sorroundings - tries a little too hard to be trendy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

If you have ever seen any of the trade magazines associated with the Indian food industry and found them to be a little too contrived because they are trying too hard to 're-invent the wheel' with their new and 'innovative' curry recipes then you'll know exactly where I'm coming from.

Despite the contrived surroundings and (ahem) innovative menu the meal was not too bad although the taste did not live up to the expectations of the surroundings and menu descriptions and the curry sauce served to me was somewhat tepid as was my rice dish.

The tandoori Mixed Grill however, which my partner chose was absolutely delicious and ranked amongst the best she's tasted.

If you want a 'different' experience when you visit an Indian Restaurant and don't mind paying towards the high end of the market for Indian Food then Cafe Bangla is worth a visit. However, if, when you go for a curry you want the traditional Indian Restaurant experience with the usual wide variety of traditional meals to choose from, then this is not the place for you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You've not had a curry until you've eaten at Cafe Bangla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left it felt like we have experienced something special. The service we received was exemplary – we were treated as if we were the only people in the restaurant. With courtesy and care the staff asked what we’d like and advised us on our food. The suggestions were excellent, the food sumptuous, delicious and plentiful. Throughout our visit, the attentiveness of the staff, never overbearing, made the experience all the better. At a more then reasonable price with exceptional quality, I cannot praise this establishment too highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bangla, East Boldon also viewed

East Boldon, Sunderland
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Bangla, East Boldon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bangla, East Boldon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.