We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massively overpriced ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolinos

Piccolinos
Stockbridge House | Trinity Gardens, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2HJ, England
0191 260 2912
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $36 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Chic yet relaxed, Piccolino restaurants are a collection of Italian neighbourhood restaurants with delicious brasserie-style cuisine. Using fresh, seasonal produce, rustic yet classic Italian dishes are served in a contemporary setting at Piccolino. Many restaurants feature popular al fresco dining areas, where diners can experience fine Italian fare and cocktails.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Massively overpriced ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This is probably the first bad review I have wrote although there is not a great deal to say.

We have a sharer seafood starter which was ok, nothing great. That was around £20.

We then both have the steak which was £22 each. It is served with a few chips and peppercorn sauce, basically nothing to it. The steak was ok but not what you would expect for that price, we have had much better.

We then bad chocolate fondant for Desert which was very very average.

Our bill came to £110 in total as we had 3 drinks each.

All in all I would say it is very overpriced, left feeling a little sad. Also had two flies fall onto my head from the ceiling, very odd :-S

Wouldn't go back unless the bill was half the price.



Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    98
    54
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Went for Restaurant Week, we have been to this chain before in a different city so we had high standards, which were easily met and exceeded. It was an absolute pleasure to eat there.

After declining a drink in the bar beforehand, we asked for the RW menu upon being show to our seats by a very efficient Matre D'. Our waiter was very pleasant and took our orders within a very short period of time, I was slightly confused when he took our dessert order as well, but I assumed that being part of the RW week offer, they wanted us in and out as soon as possible (which was correct as we were out the restaurant within 75 mins).

We ordered drinks (spirits & mixers) with which we (rather naively) said we had no preferred brand of spirit, which is something I will not do in the future, still the drinks were very nice! The bar staff were efficient & polite when bringing us the drinks.

The food was spectacular, the calamari & bruschetta were brilliant, along with the pizza & Caesar salad!

I'm greatly looking forward to returning & would recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pandemonium.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Upon arrival I was served a pint of line cleaner masquerading as boddingtons which admittedly was changed by the guy behind the bar once I spat it back into my pint glass. Our table had been booked for 7pm and we sat down shortly after this but didn't have our order taken for quite a while. We ordered from the restaurant week menu and had to order dessert at the same time as the first two courses because according to the waiter "it makes it easier for me". I don't really care how easy his job is, we were out for a good meal and conventionally this involves ordering dessert after the main course has been cleared. It was a long time before the starters came out and when they did the portions were different sizes, my friend opposite me had about twice the calamari that I did. In fairness my portion was a reasonable size for a restaurant week TDH but it is bizarre that the portions would be this different. My main of seabass was okay but nothing special, we were a table of about 12 sat near the kitchen and it was entertaining watching the carnage as the chef went ballistic at the waiters attempting to get the food out. They were woefully understaffed. There was no check-back on either the mains or starters.The desserts duly arrived after the mains and were probably the nicest part of the meal. Upon paying we noticed that my girlfriend had been charged for her side of fries despite the fact that when she ordered the waiter asked "do you want chips or fries" which implies they are part of the dish. Bit it a cheeky ad-sell. The toilets had a puddle of urine or water or something in between by the urinals. Wine was good although it'd be nice to see a bottle of barbera d'Alba/Asti nearer the £20-25 mark rather than £30; in my experience it's supposed to be a cheap grape. It was about 9.45 when we left which means it took us almost three hours to have three courses from a TDH menu on a Wednesday evening! All in all a pretty grim experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loved it !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My daughter & I were belatedly celebrating her birthday - she had been before and we had both been several times to Piccolinos in Chester when I lived in Cheshire.
We shared olives, garlic bread & mozzarella & tomato starters which were all excellent. I had veal as a main course and Cara had steak - both were cooked to perfection and the small roast potaoes & vegetables were also very good.
We both had a large glass of red wine (which I subsequently tracked down on the internet & ordered 6 bottles from a wine merchant in Harrogate - does that tell you how good it was) Osa from Maremma - if you wish to give it a try :-)
It was early in the evening and mid-week so the service was spot-on.
It isn't cheap - from memory circa £80 for two of us but as a treat well worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Called into Piccolinos on the off chance on a Sunny Monday afternoon. Only a few other people in there as expected. Politely greeted by waiter and even had the opportunity to dine outside if we so wished.

We both had salad starters which were fresh and well presented. Main meal I had Rigatoni with Lamb which was very tasty maybe a bit overpriced at £12.00. Wife had the duck dish which she thoroughly enjoyed. I had the strawberry cheesecake ti finish with whichwas probably one of the best I have ever tasted.

All in all a good dining experience. This restaurant is large and I can imagine it gets fairly busy of a night time.Would certainly visit again

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolinos also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Piccolinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.