We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful Italian authentic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe Zonzo

Caffe Zonzo
83-89 Goldspink Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1NQ, England
0191 230 4981
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“delightful Italian authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

warm family atmosphere, fabulous Italian food freshly made. If you want to escape the plastic pizza's of the high street then Zonzos is a must!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    29
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“comfortable,friendly sardinian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been visiting Cafe Zonzo for a number of years, always at lunchtime. I have found the service engaging, if a little eccentric at times, but the main purpose....eating is consistently good particularly the fregola with seafood, the rustic sausage casserole,and the lamb shanks and the portions are more than adequate for midday. The sweets are extremely toothsome and the staff will always supply that wonderful stand-by afrogata on request. The minimal design and the hard surfaces can sometimes make for a very noisy dining experience, but that is a small price to pay for this high stanard cooking and the cafe remains one of my favourite Newcastle haunts.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere, value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Only reason not 5 stars because no changing space for my 6 week old son but lovely evening and will go back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Still Hungry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

After eating at Cafe Zono I have to say I am quite disappointed. The restaurant itself is nice decor wise and looks quite modern. Everything was great until the head waiter came to take our order. After asking how big the portions were he replied "big enough to eat". I did not value his customer sevice and this put me off straight away. I had another glance through the menu and he stated that he would move onto the next table if I wasnt going to order. This was quite pushy and it wasnt even busy at this stage. We ordered and about ten minutes later we were informed that their was only portion of the lasagne left. We were quite hungry at this stage. Eventually we got our food. It was nice but nothing special. No one came to check our table once while we were eating yet a fuss was made from an elderly couple across who were clearly regulars. In my opinion it is important to value every customer who walks into your restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great place to eat in Sandyford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've had a few meals here in recent years - but often forget about it. When we do go the atmosphere is great and there are some excellent special offers - e.g. 'peasant dishes'. Due to licensing rules it does have to clue quite early. It is a place we will try to remember to visit more often.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Zonzo also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Caffe Zonzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe Zonzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.