We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great italian food - no fuss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
61-65 High Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6BX, England
+44 191 232 4366
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $34
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great italian food - no fuss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 NEW

This is great place for some no nonsense, good quality italian food. i was taken by two friends today (who are both regulars) and we all had dishes from the specials menu - which were all excellent. homemade risotto, grilled goats cheese salad, and i had the black bream with risotto. service quick, knowledgeable, not pushy.
i think that the deformed baroque decor might give me night-mares, but the food was a dream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    196
    86
    34
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Best mates graduation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

Tried a couple of places to start with, but settled here, I had a brushetta bread and cheese starter , a tortellini main followed by the profiteroles pudding and to finish off, a coffee and grappa shot.

All my food was lovely and although I am a fussy vegetarian, all the options on the menu were great as we're the helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went there yesterday as a group with a colleague who was leaving work, so 9 of us and we had a variety of dishes, including some specials and the rest off the main menu. The service was excellent and the food really lovely. Although it was busy, service was quite speedy. All told, better than most, if not all, Italian restaurants in the city centre.
I will go there again, for sure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Should visit more often”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Came here a couple of years ago because my wife had been and she had loved it. I was under the weather and did not especially like it but remembered the staff being very nice.

Back this time for my wife's birthday. Really enjoyed what we had - Gamberoni and Flatbread Lello followed by Pollo Lello and an Italian sausage casserole. Washed down by an average bottle of house white.

Nice place, nice atmosphere and a genuine thank you and goodbye from at least 5 staff as we left (no doubt mainly family). That always wins points with my wife!

Only doubt from me is that starters came only 3-4 minutes after we ordered them which does suggest the microwave might be busier than you might hope!

Will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Whenever I've been here I can say that I've had a good, tasty meal and it's been good value for money. Will be coming back for a long time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pani's Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.