We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
61-65 High Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6BX, England
+44 191 232 4366
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Had a lovely meal with 4 adults and 4 children, food was fantastic, really impressed that children could have a small portion of any pasta dish so they were able to try new things. Service was really good and the cost of the meal was very reasonable. We will be going back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    115
    38
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bit of a let down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

SERVICE
Booked a table for 6.3o on Saturday 7th. Arrived on time to be told our table was not ready but wouldn't be long. At 6.50 we asked a waitress what was happening and at the sane time informed her that we needed to leave the restaurant at 7.50 and were assured that this wouldn't be a problem. We were seated at 7.00 starter course arrived at 7.10 and was finished by 7.25. At 7.45 we asked about our main course and were informed it was "just coming" it arrived at 7.55!
We missed the start of the show at the theatre as a result of the delays in service.
FOOD
Antipasti, nice variation and well presented but nothing to give it a five star status.
Risotto, very bland and lacking any form of speciality.
Paella (yes paella in an Italian restaurant) best left to the Spanish I think!
WAITERS/WAITRESS' S
Very polite and cheerful but not attentive enough to realise that we had been waiting 20 mins for our main course.
AMBIANCE
Really busy with a lovely feel and pleasant atmosphere.
OVER ALL
Have been before and had a much better experience so would give them another go but probably not when time was important.
First time I can remember not leaving a tip, decided instead to give it to a charity within the theatre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best "fast food" ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We love Panis. It is amazing at lunchtime. It's usually jam packed so plenty of atmosphere but unlike many places this has no impact on the speed of service. The staff are exceptionally efficient and the food is always out within minutes of placing your order. If you are in a rush it is as quick if not quicker than most fast food joints and massively better! I have never had anything that wasn't delicious - although I particularly love their Italian sausage ciabatta -scrummy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

They did really well serving 33 people with pre ordered food. I expected better than I got. I found the pasta bol very boring. Not in a hurry to go back but was cheap and cheerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Vibrant friendly eatery , good quality Italian food with Sardinian specialities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Popped in to Pani's for lunch - we started with olives and flatbread- fabulous ! I had black ravioli stuffed with scallop and crabmeat with a blue cheese sauce- so tasty! Hubby had the spicy sausage and mash which was excellent too. Never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pani's Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.