We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little cafe, very authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pani's Cafe Bar

Pani's Cafe Bar
61-65 High Bridge, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6BX, England
+44 191 232 4366
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe, very authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I visited here today I just happened to spot it and remembered it being pretty decent on TripAdvisor. Having been to Italy a few times I can say it really reminded me of being back there, the staff were friendly and the food was high quality for a very reasonable price. I had 2 fillets of seabass with black pasta in lemongrass the skin was crisp the fish was moist no bones, the pasta was tasty and not greasy it was al dente and I enjoyed every bit of it. The desserts were similarly authentic and delicious. If you want a cheap pizza from a crappy chain Italians then don't bother going. If you want something more authentic, great food and exceptional prices then give it a try. It is up a little alley off Grey street easy to just wander past. I'm looking forward to going back next time I'm in Newcastle.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    130
    44
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found Pani's for the first time about a week ago and am just so excited to have found an authentic Italian/Sardinian restaurant in Newcastle :-) Can't wait to go back, try everything on the menu and take my family! I had the black tagliolini which was amazing and my friend, the home made ravioli. Service and welcome brilliant. See you soon!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've been here a few times it's hard to find stuck in a back lane near the centre of town but I'd definitely recommend a visit. The food is always good - and reasonably priced. Never been disappointed yet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Pani's is definitely one of my favourite restaurants in Newcastle. We meet up there with 'the gang' regularly to put the world to rights. The food is good Sicilian fayre, with generous portions (not too much they you wouldn't consider a pudding though!). It's reasonably priced and the atmosphere is always good. I particularly recommend the 'thick' hot chocolate, either on it's own when taking a break from shopping on a cold day, or as a pudding with a meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“lovely decor, and even nicer food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I visited Panis for the first time recently with a friend, and i really enjoyed it. The food was really nice, the waiters were pleasant, and it was good value.

a lovely little cafe, and i recommend it highly!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pani's Cafe Bar also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pani's Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pani's Cafe Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.