We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite curry house in Newcastle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley Junction 397

Valley Junction 397
Archbold Terrace, Old Jesmond Station,, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 1DB, England
+44 (0)191 2816397
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $72
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Favourite curry house in Newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is our favourite curry house in Newcastle - and we've tried quite a few! I'd particularly recommend ShatKora Delight - a lovely lemony curry. Unlike some places, the food here isn't greasy or oily - just full of flavour, meat and vegetables, and very fresh tasting. The service and food are both great, and the surroundings are also really nice - it is a clean and well maintained restaurant. Although it is a bit tucked away, there are a few great places nearby for a drink before or after too - The Carriage next door and As You Like It/Mr Lynch just a minute or two away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    28
    16
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Amazing food, location and service. A little gem hidden away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the 4th time we have visited valley junction and each time it is amazing. The choice of food is varied and reasonably priced. We always book so not to be disappointed as it is only a small venue but packed with character. This old converted signal box is tucked away in Newcastle, and is next to a quaint little pub called 'the carridge' ( appropriate) and is definitely our favourite place for what we feel is authentic Indian food. Its tasty, hot and unlike anything we have ever had before. This place is a gem.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“very good curry and unusual location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Curry house in an old station-house and carriage. The food is always good as is the service, the menu is quite broad, have been on many occasions.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great food and good service at a reasonable price (£23 for 2 courses, rice, paratha and a beer).

Good atmosphere and was busy tonight but plenty of staff on to make service smooth.

A bit of a quirky venue situated in a converted train carriage. Worth a visit.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
666 reviews 666 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a quite different location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

1st time here having previously eaten at their Corbridge equivalent. Food was excellent with great taste, consistency and choice. As others have said there are a lot of chef's specials and they appear quite unique.

We were seated in the signal box which was very good. Next time might ask in advance if can have a table in the carriage. Though initial service to take our order was a little slow service beyond that point was good.

A little more expensive than your standard Indian but this is better than standard! Will return (soon).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Junction 397 also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Valley Junction 397? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley Junction 397, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.