We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at Horton Grange

Restaurant at Horton Grange
Ponteland, Berwick Hill,, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 6BU, England
+44 (0)1661 860686
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at Horton Grange is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $98 - $98
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This elegant restaurant is located in the award-winning Horton Grange County House Hotel in Tyne and Wear, situated on the picturesque Blagdon Estate and surrounded by three acres of lush gardens. Newly refurbished, the Horton Grange restaurant is a light and airy room which enjoys views of the grounds. Proximity to Ponteland and the Newcastle International Airport makes it ideal for working lunches and weekend escapes from busy schedules. The Horton Grange's modern European menu features favourites such as the terrine of local venison, pistachio and Parma ham served with a Pimento chutney; salad of local crab with Gazpachio dressing and caviar; and the slow-cooked shoulder of lamb served with crispy pancetta, roast garlic and goat's cheese mash.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quality food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for sunday lunch there were 6 of us in the party.The venue is in a lovely setting we were welcomed at the door and made to feel like valued customers. The menu had a good selection the staff were attentive through out. The quality food and excellent service is certainly worth paying that bit extra for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    6
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I’ve been going to Horton Grange on and off for nearly 20 years and never had a bad meal or overall experience.
The restaurant its self is a bit on the “chilly” side but everything else is just about perfect.
Service, choice and quality are all excellent as is value for money, not cheap but worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Occasion dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile



Horton grange is not a place which gets much passing trade, it's a place to visit for a specific occasion.
Four of us booked for Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday.
Upon arrival the reception sets the tone, your are formally greeted, and made to feel as though your custom is appreciated.
The dining room is well set out with lots of room between the tables, the menu is sufficient though the choices are a little limited.
The service was exceptional and really pleasant.
We had three courses each and a glass of wine which came to £125.00, so it's not a typical place for a drop in Sunday lunch/ carvery.
To sum up, if you want to feel like a valued customer and like to be made welcome this is very much the place to dine, but expect to pay for what you get.
We will return again the future,

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Simple Elegant Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Dined here for lunch and it was my 1st
Visit.

The venue is in an idilic setting and on
Arrival I was shown into a lovely lounge
Area to await my friend and browse the
Menu.

Good lunchtime selection and I opted for
The prawn and melon cocktail and the
Fresh sea trout for main.

Fresh raspberries with shortbread to finish.

All dishes were excellent.

Wine lovely and host was charming.

We will return next month for sure .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little disappointing for the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went to horton grange for afternoon tea for a family members birthday. There was a choice of the classic afternoon tea which included a selection of sandwiches, and cakes with tea or coffee according to the menu. This was £5 more than the 'cakes only' option. The only thing we got extra when it arrived was 4 triangles of sandwich which added up to 2 slices of bread in total and a bit of salad. To be fair the fillings were nice including smoked salmon cheese savoury, egg mayo and a cucumber but it was ridiculously overpriced for the extra we got. 5 people also chose the cakes only option. This included scones and clotted cream and raspberry compote. Each person also got what I would describe as a shot glass of cream and raspberry compote on top, a small pastry cake with cream on top and a macaroon with lots of cream in. This was all fine but very creamy and a bit samey. We were mostly disappointed that we were given 2 small brandy cherry chocolate cakes (about 3inches in diameter) and told these were tasters so we had to share 2 between 6 people. How on earth we were supposed to cut them up I'm not sure. In the end we were given some extras. One member of the group also asked for a coke instead of tea and was given a 5 minute spiel from the waiter, explaining that this was from the bar so it wasn't possible and would cost extra.... He then changed his mind and said that it could be done. I felt that considering we were spending £80 there they could probably swap a tea for a coke and not go on about it. In the end there was no extra charge but we were made to feel like we were majorly putting out the place for this request! All in all lots of food, (you will feel sick if you manage it all), too much cream cream cream and very expensive sandwiches!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Horton Grange also viewed

Wylam, Northumberland
Hedley on the Hill, Northumberland
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Croft-on-Tees, County Durham
 

Been to Restaurant at Horton Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at Horton Grange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.