We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oodles of Noodles!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nudo Noodle House

Nudo Noodle House
54-56 Low Friar Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5UE, England
+44 (0)191 233 1133
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nudo Noodle House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $1 - $24
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nothumberland, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Oodles of Noodles!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I'm usually wary of restaurants that hold such a huge menu as this one but I needn't have worried.

The menu does open however at a page titled "small eats" which confused some of our party. These are not starters as we know them but rather a kind of Far Eastern "tapas" perfect for ordering a few different ones and sharing. In fact one has to forget the Western idea of starters and mains and just choose what you fancy - everything will come at the same time anyway! The noodle dishes are so large that you'll struggle to eat both one of these and a small eats as well.

The quality of the food is first class and good value for money. The atmosphere of the restaurant is relaxed and casual so perhaps not ideal for an evening out (it closes at 10pm) but a good lunchtime or early evening option.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    87
    11
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good authentic Japanese/Chinese style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I like Nudos, it's one of the few places outside of Asia I've seen that has a truly authentic menu and has made little attempt to dumb it down for the local palette. You have the choice of eating à la Russe with a big plate of noodle or rice dish to yourself or what I'd recommend is ordered several dishes to share among the table.

The various types of dumplings are superb, and include traditional Northern Chinese dumplings boiled in water and more Cantonese style fried dumplings. The tofu dishes are light and refreshing, and the sushi and sashimi pretty good if you like to mix and match cuisine. Was also surprised to see the 'golden steamed bread' minus the 'silver' piece, but as the golden ones always go first anyway it if anything only improves this dish.

The price isn't too bad for the quality of food, the location is convenient in the town centre just down from The Gate and the service usually okay. Highly recommended for lovers of Asian cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One of my favourites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I've never had a bad meal in here yet. My friends usually order the hot food and ramen, but I always go for the sushi. It always tastes fresh and much tastier than other Japanese restaurants in Newcastle.
My personal favourite are the sakura rolls with salmon and roe - SO good!

The spicy edamame is perfect to start whatever you're having - but warning it has a bit of a kick and leaves your lips tingling!

The dumplings are always very tasty and don't scrimp on the fillings.

We always end - no matter how full we are - with two scoops of green tea and taro ice cream. (Don't be put off by the taro's bright purple colour - it tastes like malted milk biscuits!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All time favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

One of the last Chinese restaurants left in newcastle selling real proper oriental Chinese food. This is one of my favourite restaurants. Excellent quality and service. Would thoroughly recommend this to anyone seeking real oriental Chinese food. I love it so much I know have a loyalty card!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead-on-Tyne, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Food was alright, portions were huge. The place is decent but felt rushed. Got the started and dinner at the same time :/

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nudo Noodle House also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Nudo Noodle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nudo Noodle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.