We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service .” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradiso

Paradiso
1 Market Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6QQ, England
0191 221 1240
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The restaurant is split into three main floors. The first floor, which is also the main seating floor, contains the bar area, and a spacious attached outdoor terrace for alfresco dining. The first floor is capable of holding up to 60 seated guests, and we can accommodate party sizes of any number.The second floor contains the open-plan kitchen and another seating area, which is able to hold up to 50 seated guests. This floor is smaller than the first floor, but is still capable of holding large parties with ease, and again, we can accommodate parties of any size and number.If you require more privacy, we have yet another floor for seating, the third floor, which is a private dining room which can hold up to 45 seated guests. As this room features skylights, it is brighter and warmer than the first and second floors, and is spacious enough to be used for any kind of event, such as dining, presentations and so on.
1 review
“Terrible service .”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Terrible cant even explain how rude staff was . Food poor , small portions . Food listed on menu not available etc etc .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastleparadiso, Manager at Paradiso, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear about you bad experience at Paradiso, I will address all your issues that you have brought up in this reply.

If you could please help give us more details on your visit with us, such as what date and time, your server and your food order. All this information will help us to make things better in the future.

As you can see from previous posts on this website, your comments stands out the worse for a long time and we are always striving to make things better. So if you have anymore information, it will be grateful received.

So to address your comments:

Our staff are trained to the highest of standards and usually have good banter with the customers, we pride ourselves on our relaxed friendly approach to customers, nothing is ever to much.

Our menu is changed daily and we buy our fish, meat and vegetables in every day ( if you could tell us what time you came into the restaurant this would help, for instance sometime in the evening service, we might run out of one item if it has been popular that particular day)

Small portions? That’s one thing we’ve never been accused of.. too large a portion, you might have a point ;)

Anyway I hope that we have addressed all your points in detail, we would be very grateful if you could contact the restaurant and we could discuss it in more detail and hopefully both come to a satisfactory conclusion.

Regards

Jaime

Tel: 0191 221 1240
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    105
    40
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Average. Ok, but expected more!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We ate hear to celebrate our anniversary, after looking on tripadvisor for some inspiration for somewhere different to try with good reviews. The food was ok, but pretty average. We expected more to be honest. I had a goats cheese and beetroot salad starter, which was fine. The baked goats cheese was nice, but salad was nothing special. I had seabass as a main which was nice, but overcooked. My parter ordered a mixed seafood platter which was also all overcooked and a bit greasy and sickly. I would say the restaurant was average, and I have certainly had a lot worse, but neither would I hurry back!

A gratuitory was added, as well as a charity contribution to the bill, which I didnt appreciate. We would normally tip more than 20% if the food and service were good, but I do not appreciate costs being added to the bill, and would porefer to have the freedom to make this decision myself!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastleparadiso, Manager at Paradiso, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Everyone here at Paradiso are very sorry to hear that you only found our restaurant and food average on your last visit.

I’m glad you enjoyed the goats-cheese it self and we are looking into and addressing the salad, thanks for your comments, we will see if we can add something new to the salad.

Again thanks for liking the sea bass and the chef apologies himself for the over cooked fish, we would have happily replaced or offered you a new dish if you had told one of the serving staff.

The sea food platter is one of Paradiso favourite dishes at the moment, so I’m surprised and sorry to hear your comments on it I promise we will look in to it.

In December we were supporting a charity called Streetsmart, which helps the homeless, we have been a big supporter for this charity over the years and the donation is optional, (cards are left on every table to tell you about the charity & voluntary donation on your bill).

In December the gratuitory is added because of how busy the restaurant is, again this is optional and can be taken off the bill.

We hope your last visit, has not put you off you coming again, we are planning changes this year, with refurbishments and change of menu, so please let us show you the real Paradiso next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A good restaurant in a trendy corner of Newcastle - seek it out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We booked this for a Christmas 'do', based on internet recommendations and the style of menu we saw 'on line'. Arrived at 9pm on a busy Friday night before Christmas (Booked in advance). The warmth of the greeting by the staff and the professional service exuded the professional service we all like. This complimented what was very good food. Could not fault as value for money and atmosphere. This little corner of Newcastle is becoming quite trendy. Try it! Good bars surrounding for before and after.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a fab little find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Visited here for lunch during the Christmas period.

I wanted to opt for the vegetarian pasta, however they didn't have the type of pasta required for the dish, so instead of substituting it for another I went for my second choice of roast salmon salad. My mam went for meatballs which was a starter but got chips to bulk it up a bit!

Dishes arrived within 5 minutes of ordering, beautifully presented and both delicious! Wasn't asked if everything was ok with food but the waiter could probably see from our faces we were enjoying our meal!

Only bad thing I can say about this place is they service was on the slow side, when we arrived the waiter seemed to be on his phone behind the bar and didn't notice us for about 1 minute, didn't ask if we wanted desserts or coffees.

Apart from that we had a perfect lunch. Thank you paradiso we will return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab little place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Amazing value lunch meal-gorgeous lamb kebab and chunky chips. Fab service. Very relaxed ambiance. Would recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradiso also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.