We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night, at the Medieval Banquet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfriars Restaurant

Blackfriars Restaurant
Friars Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4XN, England
+44 (0)191 261 5945
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Blackfriars Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: European, British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Newcastle Central Station
Description: Blackfriars Restaurant in Newcastle is Britain���s oldest purpose-built restaurant, dating back to 1239 when it was used as a refectory by hungry monks. Luckily the food is a bit more modern, and the award-winning menu and historical surrounds have made this one of Newcastle���s most popular restaurants. Whether you���re dining in the candlelit medieval banquet hall, the intimate dining room or the garden terrace, be sure to arrive early for a delicious cocktail at the bar. The menu never fails to impress, and favourite dishes include the wild rabbit stew with prunes, roasted almonds and Jerusalem pur��e and grilled scallops with roast pumpkin, French beans and beetroot coulis. Blackfriars Restaurant has an acclaimed wine list.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great night, at the Medieval Banquet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My first trip to Blackfriars, lovely building with lovely surroundings, the room was on the small side but great atmosphere, good food, not to sure about eating with wooden spoon but was in keeping with the theme of the night, service and staff were great, looking forward to the next visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    157
    55
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My partner surprised me with a trip to Blackfriars for my birthday last night. I had heard previous reports which were all positive so was looking forward to visiting and dining. The restaurant is so cozy and offers a real feel of medieval times with a fantastic menu and wine list. Our waiter Stephen was so friendly and knowledgeable; a refreshing change to other young waiters who can sometimes make you feel like you’re bothering them when you ask questions and recommendations for food/drinks.

After being seated we were offered a complimentary starter which was served in a shot glass, and such a nice touch as we waited for our starter from the main menu. We had the sharing fish platter which far exceeded our expectations and the presentation was excellent, served with a variety of fresh homemade bread and accompaniments. For mains we had the skirt of beef and belly pork which were both cooked to perfection and so filling, and knowing all produce is locally sourced from the North East added to the delight.

We were both so full and as a surprise our waiter Stephen then brought out some petit fours as a birthday treat which were fantastic, again everything homemade and nothing to fault. We look forward to returning and can’t recommend this restaurant enough, thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A fantastic atmospheric treat with history dating back to the 13th century!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I been to Blackfriars a few times now and although it may be a little pricey it's worth every penny. Tucked away in a beautiful old building in the centre of Newcastle the place is dripping with history and character, particularly good for those travelling to the area. The food is great and there's always something interesting on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Blackfriars; I’m not a vegetarian but not a big meat-eater so I hadn’t found anything appealing when consulting the online menu. This week I spotted Mrs Bell’s soufflé so we decided to go.

It was balmy evening so the windows and doors were open, giving a perfect ambience in a perfect setting. The history of the place is amazing.

We were given complimentary bread and butter; words cannot describe how fantastic it was. The bread had a great crust and was so tasty; the butter salty and generously portioned. To be honest we had three lots!

We were brought a complimentary shot of potato, apple and celeriac soup; a nice touch.

For main course, I had Mrs Bell’s soufflé which came with spinach and winter vegetables. Joey had said if I found it too small a portion they would be able to table a side portion within no time at all. As it was the portion size was perfect for me and the soufflé very tasty.

Hubby ordered the beef skirt with roasted shallot purée, kale & smoked butter, girolles, crispy bone marrow and a of Dauphinoise potatoes – all of which he said was fantastic.

We had intended to have dessert but were too full at this stage so we had coffee and took our time finishing a good bottle of French Pinot Noir. By the time we left we realised we’d been there for almost two hours and were never hurried by any of the staff though to be fair, it wasn’t a very busy night.

During our very relaxed meal, we were mostly served by Joey who was brilliant; capable and very amusing! We noticed the bill included a 10% tip which would have been split between all staff so we deducted that from the bill and gave Joey the 10% directly which seemed altogether more fair.

Total bill was a very reasonable £52.

We are now about to book for Burns Night in January 2014!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our wedding reception lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked our son's wedding lunch at blackfriars .From the start all the team were brilliant. They very professional and attentive. The venue was superb and the meal excellent. The whole experience made our day very special. No hesitation in recommending blackfriars for any special occasion. Thanks again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackfriars Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Blackfriars Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfriars Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.