We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good city centre oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barluga

Barluga
35 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
+44 (0)191 230 2306
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $55 - $55
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good city centre oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I have visited only during the day, never in the evening so I cannot speak of its place in the evening scene in Newcastle.
It is a bright cheerful welcoming place. One big plus for me is that , unlike most Bars in the Northeast, one can sit down and someone will come to take an order.
There is a separate dining area overlooking the main ground floor area. The menu is quite interesting and caters for a wide range of tastes from snack to three courses. Prices reflect its situation, just a short walk from the Monument and the Theatre Royal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    75
    25
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“happy days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

great food at a great price. staff very friendly always wanting to help service spot on great night clean and tidy venue

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is my favourite bar/restaurant in Newcastle. Food consistently good and Staff very friendly and helpful. I love the atmosphere with nice music playing as well

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Visited our favourite haunt again on Sunday and were not disappointed. Four of us sat on the mezzanine level and were greeted by a really pleasant lady who looked after us fantastically well. We all shared bread and olives and two of us shared a starter portion of mussels (which was more than enough). The grown ups had a beef and pork sunday lunch - both really tasty and superbly cooked and a good sized portion. The kids had a child's Sunday lunch and sausage & mash and both enjoyed. They also had ice cream - all demolished. The service was really good and we just love the easy going but lively atmosphere of the place, you never feel rushed and it's great place to spend a family lunch. It's great value too. We will be back very soon

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

What can I say great food, lovely atmosphere, attentive staff and most importantly clean toilets. Had a lovely afternoon, I will be coming back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barluga also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Barluga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barluga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.