We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Hour!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Restaurant

Marco Polo Restaurant
33 Dean St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6JQ, England
+44 191 232 5533
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary, Pizza & Pasta, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Marco Polo is an Italian bistro that is celebrating its 40th year of trading. We are an independent restaurant and locally owed. We offer a wide range of pizza/pasta and consider this to be our bread and butter. However we really come in to our own on the a la carte side of the menu. All our dishes are prepared on site and deliver extremely good value. The restaurant is always busy and has great atmosphere. We can cater for most requests. We take reservations and also hold a number of tables back for walk-in custom. So if you're passing pop in.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Happy Hour!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Visited here at around 5pm for a quick meal before a concert. The 5-7 happy hour offer was great value offering pizza or pasta for around 6.95. Pizza is good but not amazing. You want top quality, their steaks are to die for :), ate here lot's of times. Atmosphere was a bit quiet as it was early. This place is bustling later on the night. Staff are polite and cheerful. Will always return.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us and I’m pleased that you visit regularly! The happy hr is great value and runs Mon-Wed 5-7pm with selected pizza or pasta on offer.

The a la carte side of the menu is fantastic value too, with imaginative and hearty dishes. I’m pleased that you identified the service; the guys sometimes miss the praise considering how hard they work under our very busy conditions.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    238
    82
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterlee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good safe bet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Visited here for my girlfriends 21st and enjoyed the food, but it didn't quite manage to make the cut for excellence!

I had Calamari for starter and Fillet steak (Medium rare) for my main. both were cooked perfectly especially the steak. I forgot to order a side order so after my meal arrived I ordered a side which came within a couple of minutes which was extremely impressive.

You certainly wont be disappointed by Marco Polo's but I think it falls slightly into a stereotypical Italian restaurant category. I personally prefer something a little more unique/special in terms of the food which would have give it the 5 out of 5. Nevertheless I think for other people who are a little more reserved in terms of their food choices this restaurant would be perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It’s great to hear that we hit the mark with you. Thanks for positive comments regarding the food, I have passed them on to the chef and he sends his thanks too (Michael).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good job we went early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Felt cosy even though it's a big place. Considering it was so busy (Saturday eve, Great North Run) the food was pretty good, if not outstanding.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
The GNR Saturday evening is our busiest night of the year and this year’s was the busiest night in Marco Polo’s 8/9 year accounts.
To hear that we have maintained our standards during the added logistics of such a night, is warming indeed. To remain cosy despite the size of the place is great to hear, the five rooms do allow intimacy if not in a room with a group.

Thanks for taking the time and I hope we see you next year at the latest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This place is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I dined here for the first time about a week ago with another couple. Very good food, very good service, good atmosphere and good value. What more do you want?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I appreciate the time taken to write a review and welcome the glowing comments!

I’m pleased we delivered and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good safe bet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

had a meal in here midweek and was a good standard italian - exactly what you would expect.
had calzone and could not complain.
good atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MattManager81, Manager at Marco Polo Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for writing a review, I’m pleased that we delivered a v.good experience.

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Restaurant also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Marco Polo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.