We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley Hall to your Saves list
Hedley Hall
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed one night at the end of May and had a lovely stay. Our hosts were very helpful and welcoming. Room had en-suite and was very comfortable with beautiful rural view. Breakfast was lovely with very good selection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
62
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spotlessly clean, beautiful accommodation and friendly, professional hospitality. I am genuinely lost for words except to say that I will definitely return and heartily recommend this establishment. Breakfast was cooked exactly as requested. Very, very quiet so had an excellent nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hedley Hall is set in a very peaceful location enjoying wonderful views, but very near to the centre of Newcastle. Our room was beautifully furnished with a 5* bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Our host was very welcoming and most helpful with organising taxis and visits to local restaurants. We explored the old disused railway lines on our bicycles during the day and visited Newcastle to see a show on one of the evenings. A perfect place to stay and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
289 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

A B&B of the highest standard, a little out of the mainstream … but perfectly situated for a totally relaxing holiday (or short break).

Sit in the large conservatory and gaze out over the manicured gardens, or take a meandering drive along the adjacent narrow country lanes … all within easy commuting distance of Newcastle central.

My personal choice of “Best Bed To Date” in a large tastefully decorated bedroom.

A great full English breakfast with superior service … what more could you want ?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Brenda was really helpful from the time of booking to our (sad) departure. We needed somewhere for the night before a friends wedding which was held at the Beamish Hotel which was much larger and more expensive than Hedley Hall. We thought we would compromise and save a little money by having one night in a b&b. We made a mistake - we should have just had our whole stay at Hedley Hall!!

The setting was peaceful and held fabulous views. The room was light airy and very spacious, the towels were fluffy and the bed really comfortable. Breakfast was without fault and was exactly what we had asked for.

I cannot give a reason as to why this is the nicest place we have ever stayed in the UK, its just a lovely place to come to escape.. but we will be back to try the cottages with our children!
Thanks Brenda for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our second visit to Hedley Hall, the first being in 2011. Again we stayed in room 4 and the weak shower I commented on has been remedied. Everything is still well appointed and Brenda very friendly. The first part of the approach road which is shared has deteriorated due to the severe winter but once on to sole Hedley property the lane has been resurfaced and I believe Brenda is negotiating with the sharing parties to remedy this. However I was advised to treat the first half with caution at the time of booking. My rating for the hall is Very Good and as on the last visit I have not given it an excellent rating due to the requirement to pre order breakfast (a pet hate of mine) but when visiting the area I would not stay anywhere else just because of this minor niggle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good place to stay if you want to get away from it all, We just needed to be close to Beamish hall, we would definitly stay for a chillaxing break.
There was everything in the cottages that you would need, fridge/freezer, dishwasher washing machine and cooker, two large bedrooms one ensuite.

Room Tip: if in a group choose the cottage and not the b& b
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
0.4 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#5 of 25 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Byermoor Guest House
East Byermoor Guest House
#3 of 25 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley Hall

Address: Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hedley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hedley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.