We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars Are Not Enough..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley Hall to your Saves list
Hedley Hall
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“5 Stars Are Not Enough..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Brenda was really helpful from the time of booking to our (sad) departure. We needed somewhere for the night before a friends wedding which was held at the Beamish Hotel which was much larger and more expensive than Hedley Hall. We thought we would compromise and save a little money by having one night in a b&b. We made a mistake - we should have just had our whole stay at Hedley Hall!!

The setting was peaceful and held fabulous views. The room was light airy and very spacious, the towels were fluffy and the bed really comfortable. Breakfast was without fault and was exactly what we had asked for.

I cannot give a reason as to why this is the nicest place we have ever stayed in the UK, its just a lovely place to come to escape.. but we will be back to try the cottages with our children!
Thanks Brenda for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is our second visit to Hedley Hall, the first being in 2011. Again we stayed in room 4 and the weak shower I commented on has been remedied. Everything is still well appointed and Brenda very friendly. The first part of the approach road which is shared has deteriorated due to the severe winter but once on to sole Hedley property the lane has been resurfaced and I believe Brenda is negotiating with the sharing parties to remedy this. However I was advised to treat the first half with caution at the time of booking. My rating for the hall is Very Good and as on the last visit I have not given it an excellent rating due to the requirement to pre order breakfast (a pet hate of mine) but when visiting the area I would not stay anywhere else just because of this minor niggle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Good place to stay if you want to get away from it all, We just needed to be close to Beamish hall, we would definitly stay for a chillaxing break.
There was everything in the cottages that you would need, fridge/freezer, dishwasher washing machine and cooker, two large bedrooms one ensuite.

Room Tip: if in a group choose the cottage and not the b& b
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thersea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hospitality, accommodation and food all excellent, we could see why this venue receives such high scores. The location is rural but close to Sunniside where we caught a bus to and from Newcastle giving us more tourist time and saving parking charges. The only negative was that part of the road leading up to the venue was in poor shape but passable and Brenda is working to get it resurfaced. Given we were in the area only three days we found Hedley Hall was ideally located for our three visit destinations of Durham, Newcastle and Beamish.
Hedley Hall will be on our venue list again when we next visit the north east.

Room Tip: We booked the larger room with a King Size bed which in fact was more like a mini-suite - very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffreySB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Well appointed rooms with en-suite shower ( no bath ) Bathrobes supplied( one size fits all) mine too small my partners far too long. A wasted effort.

Two of our party are smokers and go to great lengths not to inconvenience non smokers. Whilst I do not agree with the habit we all found it a bit peculiar that there are no ashtrays outside the property, even more so when we were taken round the back of the building to delve in a dustbin for a used baked bean tin. Little wonder there are cigarette ends thrown on the garden and driveway.

Location is very remote , very quiet and would suit some.The access road to the establishment is really bad, potholes and bumps in excess of 20 centimetres ( 8 inches ) take great care when driving along this lane, especially at night.If you arrive in the dark take care for the turn off the A6076 there is no street lighting and at times it is a busy road.

When I originally booked our rooms I asked for an evening meal on our first night, as we had a fairly long drive that day. I was told that there are plenty of pubs and restaurants serving good food within a 10 minute drive. I was a bit surprised as the web site offers evening meals, but no problem we ate out that evening. Had a few problems finding our way back in the dark.. Consequently we decided that we would like to "eat in " on our second night.but , when we made the request , we got the distinct impression that this was not a welcome option "would you not prefer to eat out " was the response.The meal was excellent, the menu a little restricted. and it was a case of this is what we have, not," what would you like ".

Breakfast was very good but it seems a bit "old fashioned " to fill a form out the evening before to say what you want..

Fresh milk supplied in your room " on request " would have preferred UHT jiggers in the room so that we could have a tea or coffee when we wanted without going to find someone to give us milk. One way of controlling usage I suppose.

Obviously a lot of money spent on this establishment but something is lacking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunnermutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hedley Hall is my type of hotel. If you're looking for a welcoming reception, home comforts in your bedroom and that extra special attention to detail at the breakfast table, then Brenda does it all.....and how did Brenda arrange for the deer to wander through the garden in the morning?
Hedley Hall gives you a great, value for money, B&B experience. It's slightly off the eaten track, but with views and hospitality that are worth that extra mile. This is probably the best accommodation that I have stayed at, and that includes numerous hotels, guest house and B&B's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not far away from the city, but far enough away to be ever so quiet. Rooms were by far the best of our four week B&B sojoum in the UK. Attention to detail was wonderful. Views from bedroom to a green, lush backyard with birds and squirrels a far cry from our Aussie backyard! Hostess made sure we were well looked after and made welcome. Just be sure to know how to get there if travelling at night. Out Sat Nav we bought at Tescos at the beginning of our trip was a definite lifesaver, including finding Hedley, when driving the UK.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
7.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#2 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#3 of 85 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hedgefield House Hotel
Hedgefield House Hotel
#4 of 27 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 168 reviews
2.1 mi away
East Byermoor Guest House
East Byermoor Guest House
#2 of 27 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley Hall

Address: Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hedley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hedley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing