We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality that is worth the extra mile.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley Hall to your Saves list
Hedley Hall
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality that is worth the extra mile.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hedley Hall is my type of hotel. If you're looking for a welcoming reception, home comforts in your bedroom and that extra special attention to detail at the breakfast table, then Brenda does it all.....and how did Brenda arrange for the deer to wander through the garden in the morning?
Hedley Hall gives you a great, value for money, B&B experience. It's slightly off the eaten track, but with views and hospitality that are worth that extra mile. This is probably the best accommodation that I have stayed at, and that includes numerous hotels, guest house and B&B's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not far away from the city, but far enough away to be ever so quiet. Rooms were by far the best of our four week B&B sojoum in the UK. Attention to detail was wonderful. Views from bedroom to a green, lush backyard with birds and squirrels a far cry from our Aussie backyard! Hostess made sure we were well looked after and made welcome. Just be sure to know how to get there if travelling at night. Out Sat Nav we bought at Tescos at the beginning of our trip was a definite lifesaver, including finding Hedley, when driving the UK.

Room Tip: Upstairs room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Where do I start!! A lovely welcome from Brenda the owner, such a lovely lady and really helpful. What a gorgeous place to stay, well worth the money and its true you really do get what you pay for. A beautiful room, clean, pristine and so comfortable, everything is to a really high standard. Massive bed, crisp sheets, huge bathroom with massive fluffy towels and Brenda has thought of everything, down to having cotton buds!
Breakfast was brilliant, we had been travelling around the north east and this place was surely our favourite. We wished we had booked and stayed here longer. We will be back!!! Highly recommended. Hedley Hall should go on ‘Three in a bed’ we stayed in the 2011 winners B&B last year in Devon and this place would give them a bit of competition!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Lincs, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Hedley Hall is the most hassle-free venue. The rooms are huge and well-appointed. There is bags of space for your clothes. No parking issues. Great breakfast. Wonderful peaceful location yet only a few minutes from Tyneside. Spotless. It's a bit of a miracle really. Finally, Brenda runs it efficiently and unobtrusively - always there to greet you and to help. A gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Wonderful Twin Bedroom with everything you could wish for. Our Hostess was pleasant and thoughtful and our stay was fantastic. The room was opulant and spotlessly clean and the Breakfast was tasty and beautifully presented.

Room Tip: Any room as they all are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This B & B feels far out in the country, i na very peaceful setting surrounded by pastoral fields. We were surprised to be only 15 minutes from the heart of Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. Our room was large and airy, with a comfortable bed and spotlessly clean bathroom. Breakfast was filling and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Faultless from start to finish in all aspects.
Spacious and well-decorated room; spotlessly clean; modern bathroom; attractive lounge area and conservatory as well as the dining room; finishing touches such as fresh milk for tea and coffee in the room and a bowl of fresh fruit provided.
We also had an evening meal which is a set menu and needs to be pre-booked, and that was delicious.
Very peaceful location accessed via country roads - so don't stay here if you're looking for proximity to buzzy night-life.
Full marks to Brenda.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley Hall

Address: Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hedley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hedley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.