We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unostentatious luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hedley Hall to your Saves list
Hedley Hall
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unostentatious luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

We chose this hotel because of the reviews and it did not disappoint. It is in a peaceful situation; our room had views over the large garden from two aspects. The beautifully furnished room was huge - even with a very large bed and a sofa there was plenty of space to move around. It was spotlessly clean with a lovely bathroom and lots of towels and nice toiletries. There was plenty of choice for the perfectly cooked breakfast and a well-stocked welcome tray in the room, including fresh fruit. The host was pleasant and welcoming. A cot bed and high chair were provided.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
52
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

We booked our one night stay having spent a great day visiting the Beamish outdoor museum. Hedley Hall is in a good location near to Beamish but the hotel is surrounded by open countryside. The best of both worlds.

The room was well decorated, very clean and with lots to choose from in the way of sachets of instant drinks + a small basket of fruit. As we stayed on the night of the royal wedding we were also given a complimentary box of Royal Wedding Fudge which was greatly appreciated. Lots of nice touches that make a bed and breakfast stay rather special.

We made the decision to eat dinner cooked by Brenda, the owner, and it certainly was the correct decision. We had a fabulous meal of seabass which was cooked to perfection, followed by a delicious pudding. We also appreciated being able to provide our own bottle of wine with the meal.

We would definitely go again but for a longer stay as we would like to sit in the large conservatory for longer - and also to eat the delicious breakfast again.

Room Tip: We had the superking size bed and it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed for one night to attend a wedding. The place was immaculate, the price was reasonable, and the breakfast delicious. We would happily recommend this to anyone as a place to stay. If only all places were as nice as this!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you prefer the countryside yet be within easy reach of city life then this is the place for you. Hedley Hall is in a very rural position well away from any passing traffic but within a 10-15 minute car ride to Newcastle Centre and is also an ideal base for touring the counties of Durham and Northumberland.
I cannot add anymore other than repeat all the previous excellent comments regarding the excellence of the accommodation. We stayed in room 4 which had views over the countryside which was even equipped with a pair of binoculars for viewing the wildlife. In addition to the TV the room also had a radio and CD player.
Although providing meals herself, Brenda, the proprietor was always willing to give advice on eating out in the area and making reservations, (advised).
One minor let down was the weak shower which sometimes almost stopped but this is a small price to pay to enjoy the rest of the excellent accommodation.
My one negative comment and the only reason I have given Hedley Hall a Very Good rating instead of Excellent is that the excellent breakfast has to be ordered the previous evening. Unfortunately this is rapidly becoming standard practice in B & B’s in the UK but it can be difficult to know what sort of breakfast is preferred until actually getting up in the morning but again I would prefer to put up with this rather than stay in less well appointed accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We have stayed twice over the past few weeks in the self-contained cottages at Hedley Hall and will definately go again. The Cottages and the Hall itself are immaculate and beautifally presented. We had breakfast at the Hall and it was delicious and plentiful. The cottages have been decorated and furnished to a very high standard and the beds are the most comfortable we've ever slept in! The views and surrounding landscape are lovely and we are looking forward to enjoyng these again in the summer. The owner, Brenda, is a very nice lady who made us feel very welcome during both of our stays. A first class experience all round.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

everything we asked for or needed was provided. warm friendly welcome from owner and employee. the room and accomodation was 1st class and fully deserving of its 5 stars without paying 5 star rates. the room was clean, cosy ,with a wonderful bed and views across the fields. the hotel is set down a quiet country lane with no cars to be heard anywhere. the hotel has all amenities in the room and downstairs has a large conservatory or dining room to relax in. we were booked a taxi into newcastle which was cheap and is within 20 mins drive , so perfectly placed for either a relaxing break or a city break. would highly recomend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed overnight after a day at Beamish. The family room is a really good sized with fresh flowers and immaculate throughout. The room had fresh flowers, a bowl of fresh fruit, some chocolates, mince pies and biscuits.
Breakfast was really good complete with homemade jam. The owner was very welcoming with us and our children, this was the first time our young children (2 and 1) had stayed in a hotel. We would recommend this to anyone especially if like us you are looking for somewhere to stay after a day out at beamish as its roughly 10mins away!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley Hall

Address: Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hedley Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hedley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.