We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country and Town combined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hedley Hall

Save Saved
You added Hedley Hall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hedley Hall
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Country and Town combined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

If you prefer the countryside yet be within easy reach of city life then this is the place for you. Hedley Hall is in a very rural position well away from any passing traffic but within a 10-15 minute car ride to Newcastle Centre and is also an ideal base for touring the counties of Durham and Northumberland.
I cannot add anymore other than repeat all the previous excellent comments regarding the excellence of the accommodation. We stayed in room 4 which had views over the countryside which was even equipped with a pair of binoculars for viewing the wildlife. In addition to the TV the room also had a radio and CD player.
Although providing meals herself, Brenda, the proprietor was always willing to give advice on eating out in the area and making reservations, (advised).
One minor let down was the weak shower which sometimes almost stopped but this is a small price to pay to enjoy the rest of the excellent accommodation.
My one negative comment and the only reason I have given Hedley Hall a Very Good rating instead of Excellent is that the excellent breakfast has to be ordered the previous evening. Unfortunately this is rapidly becoming standard practice in B & B’s in the UK but it can be difficult to know what sort of breakfast is preferred until actually getting up in the morning but again I would prefer to put up with this rather than stay in less well appointed accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
47
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

We have stayed twice over the past few weeks in the self-contained cottages at Hedley Hall and will definately go again. The Cottages and the Hall itself are immaculate and beautifally presented. We had breakfast at the Hall and it was delicious and plentiful. The cottages have been decorated and furnished to a very high standard and the beds are the most comfortable we've ever slept in! The views and surrounding landscape are lovely and we are looking forward to enjoyng these again in the summer. The owner, Brenda, is a very nice lady who made us feel very welcome during both of our stays. A first class experience all round.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walsall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

everything we asked for or needed was provided. warm friendly welcome from owner and employee. the room and accomodation was 1st class and fully deserving of its 5 stars without paying 5 star rates. the room was clean, cosy ,with a wonderful bed and views across the fields. the hotel is set down a quiet country lane with no cars to be heard anywhere. the hotel has all amenities in the room and downstairs has a large conservatory or dining room to relax in. we were booked a taxi into newcastle which was cheap and is within 20 mins drive , so perfectly placed for either a relaxing break or a city break. would highly recomend

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed overnight after a day at Beamish. The family room is a really good sized with fresh flowers and immaculate throughout. The room had fresh flowers, a bowl of fresh fruit, some chocolates, mince pies and biscuits.
Breakfast was really good complete with homemade jam. The owner was very welcoming with us and our children, this was the first time our young children (2 and 1) had stayed in a hotel. We would recommend this to anyone especially if like us you are looking for somewhere to stay after a day out at beamish as its roughly 10mins away!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This was our second visit to Hedley Hall and again we were delighted with the superb accommodation and attention to detail. Everything seemed to be geared to making the stay as memorable as possible.
We will be going back. Thank you for an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Very quiet location in a lovely house, warm welcome from the owner and everything you could want in a room away from home, lots of thoughtful touches that made the difference and made our onward stay further up the coast such a disaster that we left the second accommodation early! We hope to return at Christmas.P.S. Although advertised as a B&B the accommodation was better than many a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We only stayed for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. We will certainly stay again.
The bed and breakfast is beautifully appointed and lovingly cared for by the owner who looked after us very well indeed. Everything was spotless and much looked new. The views were stunning, and there was a huge conservatory overlooking the gardens where you could sit and enjoy the views. If the weather is nice as it was when we were there you can sit out in the garden too. The lounge was big, beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice including fresh fruit salad, cooked items, lighter options and cereals and toast. Preserves were made by a local lady.
All in all a great place to stay in the countryside but also close to Newcastle.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hedley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley Hall

Address: Hedley Lane | Nr. Sunniside, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 5EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hedley Hall 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hedley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hedley Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.