We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I only came in for drinks, not food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of dAt bAr

dAt bAr
11 Market Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6JN, England
+44 191 244 2513
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I only came in for drinks, not food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Excellent selection of craft beer on the go at prices similar to other bars in Newcastle. Great atmosphere with live DJ (this was Friday night). Definitely interested to come back and try the food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallsend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food. Great value. Great beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Quality food for the money. Great choice of beers. We went fir burgers and cocktails and we were not dissapointed. Well done to the owners and staff!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited with a friend on a saturday night, the place wasn't to busy and we were shown to our table ,the menu both food and drink were a little confusing and i think our waitress was trying to get us to order our drinks at the bar. We decided to order the burgers which they appear to promote, we weren't disappointed when they arrived, the meat was well flavoured, charred and very moist, if i could have complained about amything the buns were slightly dry. The decor is very retro and the burgers served on tin plates which all adds to the vibe of the place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Pizza's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Lunched here with three friends, 1 steak and 3 Pizzas later there were four very satisfied diners. I had the Rosana Pizza and a meatball slider. The Pizza was fresh and tasty, very moorish. The slider was great too. Feedback on the the steak and other pizzas was excellent. Everyone loved the cat sup sauce, spicy! Overall a very pleasant experience and really good food. Very reasonable prices too contributed towards this being a great lunch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Staff couldn't be nicer, efficient and friendly service. Lovely atmosphere and nice decor. Ideal location and it seems to attract a good crowd. I had the datburger which was sensational and my other half enjoyed her pizza too. The datsundae was excellent and all of the beers i tried were delicious, especially the one that tasted like smokey bacon - I wish I had taken note of the name of it! Definitely recommend this place, especially for the burger, one of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed dAt bAr also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to dAt bAr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage dAt bAr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.