We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Tides

House of Tides
28-30 the Close | Quayside, Newcastle, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3RF, England
+44 191 230 3720
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $68 - $106
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located on the historic Newcastle quayside and just a stones throw away from the iconic Tyne Bridge. Set within the recently restored Grade 1 listed 16th Century former merchant's town house. House of Tides is a 50 cover restaurant which is set over two floors. The more rustic ground floor entrance level with its 16th century flagstones, provides an excellent venue for a pre dinner drink or two. The first floor which houses the main restaurant seating area has exposed original wood beams and provides the more relaxed and casual setting for your meal. Kenny Atkinson's bold and imaginative cooking has brought him critical acclaim and numerous awards, including a michelin star in 2008 & 2009, holder of 3AA rossettes for over 10 years and Hotel & Caterer Cateys chef of the year 2009. Kenny has also become a well known face on tv from his appearance's on the BBC 2's The Great British Menu. He won this in two consecutive years, 2009 and 2010, with his Grand Reserve Beef Carpaccio and Mackerel & Gooseberry dishes. More Recently you will have seen him alongside James Martin on BBC1's Saturday kitchen, UKTV Foods Market Kitchen and Sky TVs Perfect series.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Best Yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoy frequent trips to different areas throughout the country and as a result spend a lot of time in restaurants. So it was a pleasant surprise to find this little gem on our very own doorstep. The atmosphere, the service, the standard of food, everything you want to make your night is all contained within. It is reasonably priced for the quality of the food and we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    56
    34
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A bit full of themselves”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Held a corporate function here recently. We were told that they could not accommodate a party of 11 in the main restaurant, and that we would have to pay an additional £500 for a "private room". When we arrived, we discovered that this was actually just an alcove off the main restaurant!

The time we could eat was dictated to us by the restaurant - they were adamant that we had a choice of 5.30 or 9.30pm, as they couldn't accommodate our group at the same time as the main restaurant's busy period. Again, not ideal for a corporate function, but we went with it as we were keen to try the venue. We were therefore really annoyed to find the staff loitering by the table as the evening drew to a close, making it abundantly clear that they wanted to go home, and that we should wrap up our evening and allow them to do so!

The food was good, although it was made up of lots of small courses, which was probably more suitable for couples or a small group of friends, than a larger business group.

The service left a bit to be desired, particularly as the staff poured a first glass of wine for our guests and then simply left the bottles on a side table so guests had to get up and help themselves. In a restaurant of this standard (and with these prices), we would have expected better.

My biggest annoyance, as someone who regularly books corporate functions, is that I emailed the restaurant with our feedback over 48 hours ago, and I'm yet to receive a response, hence this review!

The overall impression from House of Tides was that they think they are doing you a favour by allowing you to dine in their establishment, and that there is no real desire to demonstrate the level of customer service or responsiveness that I would expect from a restaurant in this price bracket, or that I have experienced from other establishments in the local area. To be honest, there are places in Newcastle where the food is equally as good, and where you are treated better for your money, and made to feel a great deal more welcome!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“My Favourite Restaurant in Newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've visited House of Tides twice. The first time in January 2014 when it hadn't long opened and once more in July 2014 for the first Sunday of Sunday lunches. The Sunday lunch was the best I've ever had in a restaurant and the taster menu in January was faultless. The service is fantastic and the food even better. I'd be very surprised if it didn't earn a Michelin Star.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visited here for my birthday and we were not disappointed. I was instantly impressed by the beautiful décor, keeping the original features mixed with a cool contemporary look. We arrived and were promptly seated in the lovely relaxed holding area downstairs, where we perused the menu and immediately chose to go the route of the taster menu, even though there were no details of what you would receive, we decided to embrace the fine dining and try things we wouldn't ordinarily try. We indulged in a pre dinner drink, myself choosing a classic prosecco and my husband choosing a whiskey and Cointreau combo, which was very tasty. We were brought some amazing amuse bouche, and shortly after were taken to our table. The taster menu, was a lovely experience, but don't expect a quick turn around, embrace the evening, and you do need the break in between each course.

One regret I have is not choosing the wine pairing, on my next visit I will definitely be going this route. Have already booked for our return visit.

Thanks for a lovely experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Birthday treat ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Went last night for my boyfriends birthday can't fault the food was amazing and well worth a visit we had the 7 course meal with wine. I wouldn't suggest the wine as you really only 4 small glasses of wine. Would just suggest the 7 course meal. The service was good although I do think the 12.5% charge at the end is a bit much. The experience was good but I think maybe a little bit overpriced compared to other fine dining places I have been. For a extra special treat I would recommended going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Tides also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to House of Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Tides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.