We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always plenty to do!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Stories

Seven Stories
30 Lime Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 2PQ, England
0845 271 0777
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Children's Museums, Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always plenty to do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have been coming here for several years and the kids (now ages 6, 6, 4 and 2) always find something new to entertain themselves with. They love the craft activities as well as the story time. We have an annual pass now and it's a great place to come just for a short while or for a whole day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    16
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing land of make believe for children and parents!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you dont have kids borrom your nieces and nephews and head down to Seven Stories its a magical place, we are big Julia Donaldson fans so wanted to go while all her amazing characters were there. It was really quiet when we went so kids got involved in everything. My 11 year old was not entertained but happy to come along to watch his brothers (aged 5 and 14 mo nths)enjoy the magic. I think the admission charge is fair as you can easilly have three or four hours here. The cafe is reasonable and the home made food lovely. Shop well stocked and happy to buy a book each for kids. Only one complaint..... staff a buf miserable. The one who did story time ok and ones who wander round friendly but the cafe and shop staff seem to think they are above everyone. Cant wait for the enid blyton event, not sure my boys willbe bothered though!!!!! If you havent been....go

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hi we have previously visited Seven Stories and had only praise for it. But our visit yesterday was very disappointing. We were not able to access all the rooms, level one creative station - closed schools only, level 2 cafe, problem with till not even able serve us a cup of tea, we had arrived after three hour journey, straight from the station.
Level 3 bookshop open - surprise , but on this occasion I didn't spend any money.
Level 4 &. 5 exhibitions open as usual and excellent. Level 5 Santa's Study closed, write your letter to Santa moved but no original manuscripts or illustrations, we had a school age child, off school for a graduation visit to Newcastle and special permission to go to Seven Stories as educational aspect. Level 7 Santas Grotto closed schools only
On admission there was no mention that half rooms were closed to us. Staff tried to compensate by extending our ticket to another time, but will not be very helpful to us as we live so far away.
All in all a very disappointing visit. Beware if you visit when schools are visiting you are most defibately NOT welcome.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Definitely worth a visit and so much to see and do for all ages up to 12 years old and grandmas!
I like the story time for the children and the dressing up area which has costumes such as the gruffly

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent! Wish this had been around when I was little!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

So so wonderful. Especially the bit in the attic where they run storytime and children can dress up as their favourite book characters. Great for teachers too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stories also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Seven Stories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Stories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seven Stories to your Saves list