We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring for travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jesmond Dene House to your Saves list
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caring for travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived in the dark to very cheery smiley faced reception staff who made us feel special and welcome, they upgraded our room, which was lovely, well appointed very attractive bathroom. We had a very pleasant drink in the bar prior to a lovely meal in the dining room.
Good advice as to where to visit, we tried to book in for another night but they were fully booked.

Room Tip: Because of the location of the hotel it was generally very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    110
    11
    14
    5
See reviews for
102
306
17
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a beautiful hotel where my wife and I stayed for our wedding anniversary. From entering to leaving we found all the staff welcoming, helpful and professional. The food was excellent the ambiance wonderful and we were touched by the generosity and attention to detail of the hotel management.
The building is magical and our room was lovely. For a meal or to stay , this hotel is hard to beat. It would be difficult to find a better hotel in Newcastle.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

5 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Europe’s third best city for nightlife, yet within the grounds of a stunning Dene, I knew I had found the right place.
The large style mansion is neither a hotel nor a home although the atmosphere inside is the perfect combination of the two.
Jesmond Dene House Hotel claim to “combine a wealth of original details with a modern sense of comfort” and they have succeeded. While an old-fashioned British exclusiveness lies in the air and groups dine over high tea and Sunday roasts, modern art from the local community and business and wedding functions swiftly remind you, you are not stuck in an old school movie.
For my full review, pictures and a video tour of my room, visit: http://livealifeoftravels.com/travel/jesmond-dene-house-hotel/

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I recently joined our sister-in law for a birthday celebration at Jesmond Dene House, Nwewcastle upon Tyne. We enjoyed an excellent afternoon tea, a glass of wine beforehand, followed by delicious sandwiches and delightful cakes. We were even offered a "doggy bag" to take home what, unfortunately, we were unable to finish at the time!
The staff were most helpful, looked after us well and were very polite
A memorable experience and one which we would hope to repeat in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a one night stay but returned the following afternoon for afternoon tea. What a lovely place! Set in an extended mansion house on the Dene, away from the bustle of the city, but within walking distance of the lovely area of Jesmond. We were greeted by very welcoming staff who showed us to our room in an annex. The room was very well appointed and very comfortable. We departed the following morning after a more-than-you-can-possibly-eat delicious breakfast, but returned for the afternoon tea with my daughter and her friends as a birthday treat - and what a treat! The hotel prices are not for the faint hearted, but if you want to give yourself a treat ...

Room Tip: The annex room was very quiet, but we were caught out by the rain when we wanted to get back to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You must go to this Arts and Crafts gem set in a Dene. The best breakfast I have ever had in an hotel. Great staff lovely dinner - drinks pricey but that's what you pay in a decent hotel. Quirky and beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a little escape for a afternoon tea with some friends and we loved it. Little bit overpriced but it's worth it. The best scones I ever ate and the surroundings are amazing!!!! Best to visit in the summer to sit outside.
Definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.