We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Save Saved
You added Jesmond Dene House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Jesmond Dene House, so much so we stayed on for an extra night. Having stayed at many hotels worldwide, we found this one to be a real gem, partly because it is independent, and not part of a chain. The happy staff were very professional as well as friendly and welcoming and the food was exceptional. Little things made the stay extra comfortable, like having fresh milk in the mini-bar fridge to have with tea and coffee, made a welcome change from the normal long-life capsules!
One small gripe, we had trouble getting wi-fi in our room (no.28), and TV could do with updating.
We will definitely return here as often as possible.
Well done to the manager and all the staff for running this hotel so beautifully. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    438
    95
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
90
281
17
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We like to visit Jesmond Dene House for lunch or dinner at least once a month and we are never disappointed. The whole experience from arriving and being welcomed into the stylish lounge/bar to the restaurant with its lovely airy feel is a beautiful treat. We had lunch this time which was divine. The smoked mackerel pate is a real taste sensation and I followed it with the Tim Oliver's Belted Galloway Flat Iron Steak and my husband had the Dover Sole, both delicious and beautifully cooked in their own way. For pud we both had the Lime Cheesecake with Lime Curd ice cream, the best cheesecake I have ever tasted.
Visiting Jesmond Dene House Hotel is such a pleasure we have booked dinner and an overnight stay for my birthday at the end of July, can’t wait.

Room Tip: Room 32 has a huge walk in shower and a large free standing bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent two fabulous nights here last week. From the moment we arrived we received excellent service- We were given a complimentary room upgrade and bottle of champagne as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Staff were courteous and attentive, food at both dinner and breakfast was delicious, the gardens were beautifully maintained and the room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. Ideally situated for either Newcastle city centre or the superb Northumbrian coast. Wouldn't hesitate recommending Jesmond Dene House hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Came here for an evening meal and was very impressed by the hotel and its surroundings. The meal itself was delicious and the steak was one of the best I've had. The staff are very friendly and very attentive. I really enjoyed the evening and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything about this hotel is special, the location, staff, rooms, food, everything simply perfect. Every detail was covered, the staff were amazing from entering the hotel until leaving everything exceeded our expectations. We knew and hoped it would be perfect after seeing and hearing reviews about the hotel and after meeting Abi the wedding co-ordinator, but to say it went beyond what we expected is an understatement, simply FANTASTIC

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Not only does the staff make you feel at home, but the environment is so amazingly unique and refreshing. The aesthetic aspect of the hotel combines the original qualities of the property with contemporary art and design. The result is a place that you don't want to leave. I found myself rearranging my schedule, so that my family and friends would join me at the Hotel. At night, you can hear the river running through Jesmond Dene, where the hotel is located. I felt great, being surrounded in so much nature... Try any of the lounges. I felt like I was at home! It's first rate!

Room Tip: room 22 was spacious and comfortable. It overlooked the entrance to the Dene. Very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernoux-en-Vivarais, Rhone-Alpes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This has now become our favourite hotel in the Newcastle area. Room 33 at the very top of the hotel was spacious and chic and very comfortable. And I had the most indulgent breakfast. It's easy to be greedy with such great food. Next time we'll definitely eat in the evening as well.

But it's the staff that make this hotel. Faultless and very friendly. And the gardener didn't mind being quizzed about plant varieties and was happy to show me around. How often would you find that in a top class hotel?

Room Tip: Rooms 33 up under the eaves is a little less expensive than 32 next door, but very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.