We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always return!Fantastic, friendly staff, fab food,elegant, & contemporary. Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Save Saved
You added Jesmond Dene House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will always return!Fantastic, friendly staff, fab food,elegant, & contemporary. Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Jesmond dene house hotel Many times. We love everything about it, the setting the atmosphere the friendly attentive staff and of course the superb rooms.

We had the pleasure of meeting the hotel manager Scott who we were equally impressed with.

We usually stay in room three as I love the main part of the house the rooms are very modern and individual yet the have so much character.

Afternoon tea is a must, and the breakfast is fab, we always chose the English breakfast although you can still help yourself to the extensive buffet that consists of : smoked salmon,variety of fruit,selection of cheese,chutneys, celery and meats not to mention the pastries, & muffins. You can also help your self to fresh pure orange juice or champagne.

The decor in the entire house is fab, comfortable and of a high standard.
The interior designer did a great job.

The city centre is about 4-5 miles away in a taxi and the hotel are more than happy to organise one for you. We tend to pop into Jesmond as it has many eaterys and bars it reminds us of some of the towns/villages here in Cheshire such as Alderley Edge, Knusford or Hale. The people are extra friendly and always pleasant. There are some lovely boutiques as well if you fancy treating yourself or your partner.

I must admit we have not had chance to dine in the hotel Restaurant, apart from afternoon tea/breakfast although I have heard rave reviews and we will be doing so during our next visit for sure!

If you prefer to eat out we love Louis and the new manager Tom is excellent as is the chef. We also loved the Cherry Tree, they are both first class.

The hotel rooms have everything you could ask for and the beds/matresses are very comfortable. The Arran aromatic toiletries are so lovely we purchased
Some online for home.
I would suggest If you prefer a room with character That you kindly request a room in the main house , we have stayed in the modern junior suites and they are spacious and equally gorgeous but obviously they are new and they don't have the same character.

All the staff at the hotel are excellent,Ryan was very helpful as were the reception and restaurant staff.
There seemed to be an event on during our stay however this did not effect the service we recieved.

The hotel is 5 star quality without being stuffy or overbearing.

We have never taken our children although we have seen a few children who were well behaved and not seen to be an inconvineace. So the hotel is definitely family friendly.

We would consider ourselves well traveled and have stayed in many 5 star hotels and the Jesmond dene House hotel is well on par with the best.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    95
    11
    13
    5
See reviews for
91
282
17
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only stayed one night...should have stayed longer. Fabulous hotel nestled in lovely gardens, within easy reach of Newcastle city centre. We were made to feel so welcome, the service was excellent. We ate in the main restaurant - even the standard, house menu was delicious. We loved the interior design - very eclectic, stylish yet relaxing and comfortable. Felt like an exclusive retreat. Easy to see why this place is in the top 25 hotels in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Jesmond Dene, and once again we enjoyed the ambience and comfort the house provides. Everything about the place is effortless pleasure: the staff have got it just right. Dining is every bit as good as you'd expect; special mention must be made of what must be one of the best breakfast presentations in the country.

So: well done to the management and staff - you're professional and you're getting it right. If only other hotels could do half as well....

Suggestion for improvement: the lighting in the bedroom could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Delicious sandwiches, homemade fresh scones, fabulous cakes! This was the best afternoon tea I've ever had. Jesmond Dene House is a lovely place to visit if you have a special occasion to celebrate. The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent and the food is superb, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Very good food and service as expected. All of the staff had mastered polite without being obsequious. The location is superb - a country house style near a city centre. I think the room rate is comparable with others of it's ilk hence my average rating,

Room Tip: that is it expensive but no worse than comparators. I thought the carpet in my room was grubby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where to start? From the beautiful setting on the edge of the Dene; the historic public areas and bar; our room (especially the gorgeous airy bathroom with extra deep bath); the lovely restaurant; the beautifully-presented and tasty food, and - particularly - the friendly, professional, considerate staff - this hotel shone. The extra little touches and the wonderful staff made it a really special stay for us, and we're already thinking of an excuse to treat ourselves again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I staying for one night in January this year, the whole experience - staff and service was superb. Whilst the Jesmond Dene is a luxury hotel is has none of the "stuffiness" of others we have stayed in, we were made to feel at home. Our family joined us for dinner which was amazing... relaxing and the quality of the food and presentation was second to none.
Overall I have to say it's the little things that most people don't notice that make the Jesmond Dene so special.
If I have one small criticism our bedroom was beautiful... but too hot and we couldn't cool it down, but I'm sure if we had asked someone would have rushed to help..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.