We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Ranking Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jesmond Dene House to your Saves list
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top Ranking Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only stayed one night...should have stayed longer. Fabulous hotel nestled in lovely gardens, within easy reach of Newcastle city centre. We were made to feel so welcome, the service was excellent. We ate in the main restaurant - even the standard, house menu was delicious. We loved the interior design - very eclectic, stylish yet relaxing and comfortable. Felt like an exclusive retreat. Easy to see why this place is in the top 25 hotels in the UK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    120
    12
    14
    5
See reviews for
114
334
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Jesmond Dene, and once again we enjoyed the ambience and comfort the house provides. Everything about the place is effortless pleasure: the staff have got it just right. Dining is every bit as good as you'd expect; special mention must be made of what must be one of the best breakfast presentations in the country.

So: well done to the management and staff - you're professional and you're getting it right. If only other hotels could do half as well....

Suggestion for improvement: the lighting in the bedroom could be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Delicious sandwiches, homemade fresh scones, fabulous cakes! This was the best afternoon tea I've ever had. Jesmond Dene House is a lovely place to visit if you have a special occasion to celebrate. The hotel is beautiful, the service is excellent and the food is superb, highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Very good food and service as expected. All of the staff had mastered polite without being obsequious. The location is superb - a country house style near a city centre. I think the room rate is comparable with others of it's ilk hence my average rating,

Room Tip: that is it expensive but no worse than comparators. I thought the carpet in my room was grubby a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Where to start? From the beautiful setting on the edge of the Dene; the historic public areas and bar; our room (especially the gorgeous airy bathroom with extra deep bath); the lovely restaurant; the beautifully-presented and tasty food, and - particularly - the friendly, professional, considerate staff - this hotel shone. The extra little touches and the wonderful staff made it a really special stay for us, and we're already thinking of an excuse to treat ourselves again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I staying for one night in January this year, the whole experience - staff and service was superb. Whilst the Jesmond Dene is a luxury hotel is has none of the "stuffiness" of others we have stayed in, we were made to feel at home. Our family joined us for dinner which was amazing... relaxing and the quality of the food and presentation was second to none.
Overall I have to say it's the little things that most people don't notice that make the Jesmond Dene so special.
If I have one small criticism our bedroom was beautiful... but too hot and we couldn't cool it down, but I'm sure if we had asked someone would have rushed to help..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel in a beautiful setting. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. What a change to go to a hotel and find the staff so welcoming.The breakfast was one of the best we have had anywhere,there was a huge choice and it was all beautifully served.
This is one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in and we only wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: A room looking over the Dene is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.