We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay in great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jesmond Dene House to your Saves list
Jesmond Dene House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Overnight stay in great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed one night with friends and had a wonderful night with great food, wine and service.The room was comfortable and well presented. The meal we had in the restaurant was excellent; we ate from the fixed price menu at £28 a head and a bottle of wine for £24, pre dinner drinks ar £10, therefore with tip £50 a head, expensive but reasonable for a special night out. Our friends went a la carte and starters were £17 each and mains £26 a head and cheese £10, pudding £8.50.They agreed that the food was excellent but the portions were small and over expensive, they agreed that they would have been better on the fixed price menu.
Service was first class, at the table and in the bar/lounge where the waiter was knowledgeable and friendly.
The breakfast the next day, included in our overnight stay, was superb with a great choice including my favourite smokked salmon with scrambled eggs.

Will definately return albeit for another special occasion.t

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    105
    11
    14
    5
See reviews for
99
299
17
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is our absolute favourite place to stay. After we had our wedding at the hotel earlier this year we have become very attached! The friendly atmosphere is welcoming yet always so professional. The standards are outstanding from the beautiful bedrooms to the fabulous restaurant to the attentive staff.
I have nothing but praise for this beautiful hotel and its fantastic staff. I would recommend it to anyone planning a celebration for 100, a quiet weekend for 2 and anything in between! A truly perfect venue

Room Tip: The suites in the new house are luxurious and spacious. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was a perfect place to have a special celebration. Everything about the weekend was first class from the minute we arrived. Everybody made us feel very welcome with nothing too much trouble. The rooms were fit for a king and the Great Hall, where we dined, was spectacular. The food and wine would be difficult to better anywhere in the world. Thank you to everyone involved for making this a perfect 60th Birthday - looking forward to returning for the next one !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel surpassess all expectations. The rooms are really comfortable, especially the beds, and the service is first class. The food is excellent and the staff could not be nicer. I have absolutely nothing but praise for this hotel, it is well worth a stay.

The only thing to bear in mind is that it doesn't have a gym / pool but for a relaxing business or pleasure break I really con't fault it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashford
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My daughter is at Uni in Newcastle, I look forward to seeing her and staying at Jesmond Dene House Hotel. It is lovely, with beautifully decorated rooms, comfortable and well appointed.
The breakfast is one of the best I have had anywhere, the most amazing spread of everything you
could possibly imagine and wish for. I have had dinner and lunch here too, both very good. the staff a friendly and efficient. Hope it it keeps its high standards and great qualities.

Room Tip: Modern rooms/mini suites in the annexe, very close by and more traditional rooms in main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Another visit to Jesmond Dene House for dinner & once again it exceeds expectations! From the warm friendly welcome as you walk through the door, friendly efficient staff and the most wonderful food!! We ate from the set menu it was perfect & only £28 for 3 courses excellent value. Cannot fault this venue well worth a visit for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed overnight with my husband's parents to celebrate his birthday and booked 2 superior rooms. We requested rooms on the upper floors overlooking the garden and nearby Jesmond Dene. Both rooms were lovely with large windows and quality furniture and fittings and complimentary mineral water and fruit was provided. Our room was larger with a quirky shaped bathroom (shower only which suited us), very comfortable bed and was beside the Dene so we were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waterfall within it. I was very happy with our room and would request that room again on a future stay.
The hotel is just outside the city centre in the residential area of Jesmond and parking is ample (at no charge). Walks in the large park (the Dene) are recommended and the nearby Osborne Road area offers a range of bars and restaurants. We didn't dine in the hotel restaurant but did have a snack lunch in the bar and we also really enjoyed breakfast.
I really liked this hotel, the service, the Jesmond area generally and will be back!

Room Tip: Opt for a view of the garden/Jesmond Dene on an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jesmond Dene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene House

Address: Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#3 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#4 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jesmond Dene House 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A grand house with contemporary style, a leafy setting near the heart of the city. Jesmond Dene House is neither a townhouse nor a country house hotel. It's simply 40 well-designed bedrooms and suites in a richly historic building offering understated luxury and rather good food. Overlooking the wooded valley of Jesmond Dene, the privately owned hotel guarantees peace, escapism and a refreshing change. Newcastle's city centre, however, is only a five-minute drive. The hotel recently received 4 red stars and the AA Hotel of the Year 2008-2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jesmond Dene House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene House Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Hotel Jesmond Dene

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.