We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Euro Hostel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Euro Hostel Newcastle to your Saves list
Euro Hostel Newcastle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for one night to see the OMD concert. I stayed in a single room and with early check-in and the gig discount, it came to about £28. The room itself had two bunks, one with a bottom double bunk. The top bunk was quite low, so you can't really sit on the bottom bunk. Some of the furniture and walls seemed a bit worse for wear, but it did the job. The wifi in my room was terrible; I was in the last room on the first floor so maybe the wifi didn't reach that far and it was cutting out every couple of minutes. The location is great, especially if you are attending a gig at the Sage Gateshead as it just a short taxi ride away (although you also get a free bus ride to the Sage, and the walk isn't too far). Breakfast was nothing special, just cereal and toast is offered. I had a steak and ale pie and a ware wolf cocktail for dinner, both of which were quite good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello mightysparks

Thank you very much for making the effort to provide a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I appreciate all the comments you have made and corrective action will be taken with regards to WiFi and room decoration.

Thanks again for your comments and I do hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    31
    19
    23
See reviews for
13
13
26
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

i stayed here for a weekend away for my birthday with 2 friends. Only paid £20 each per night, very sceptical about staying at a hostel.
When we arrived, we were VERY suprised how central it was! literally a 2 minute walk from northumberland st (shopping) and diamond strip within walking distance. Quayside is also a 5 minute walk. I would never think of this place as a hostel i had in mind, it was just an amazing value hotel.
We had paid extra for a private room, which has en-suite facilities, 2 bunkbeds, tv and window that opens. I read previous reviews that rooms can get quite hot, i certainly didnt think this.
Bathroom is small but no bother.Friendly staff and great facilities!
Overall i had an fab experience here, completely worth the money paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Anna123x

Thanks very much for writing such a positive review on your recent stay in Newcastle with Euro Hostel.

The team and I were delighted to read your comments on your stay and the fact that you had enjoyed your time with us.

I hope you will come and see us again very soon.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Was at Euro Hostel last weekend for my sisters hen there was 10 in one room was clean and tidy. Not a lot of variation in the continental breakfast (cereal and toast) but for the price of the hostel (£22.50 per person per night) can't complain too much! First night we were at the hostel we had dinner in the Ware Rooms (within the hostel) which was great value, 2 main meals and 2 drinks for £12. Only issue was there was a bit of a delay with the food but staff were apologetic and very friendly + the food was quite nice when it arrived!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello Leanne5571

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your comments and that we appear, on the whole, to have ensured your party had a great weekend.

Thanks also for your feedback on the food and drink service on offer in The Ware Rooms.

I do hope you and your party will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at the hostel for 2 nights last week for a friends birthday weekend away. We could not have been more impressed with the facilities and the friendliness of the staff. The room itself was small but just what we needed, it was clean, light and the bathroom was perfectly fine. All of the staff we encountered were lovely and very accommodating even listening to us chat mindlessly for hours when we got in from our night out! The food and drinks were reasonably priced and very nice. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have a great night and the beanbag room is the best idea in the world!! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello p0d1

Thanks very much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to note that you appeared to enjoy every aspect of your stay with us.

We really appreciate your comments and I hope you will come and see us again in the very near future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Was in Newcastle a few weeks ago for a stag do and decided to stay in the Eurohostel. We arrived early in the morning and had not slept all night due to flights. The staff behind reception seemed very cold and not welcoming at all. We decided to get some breakfast in the dining area and after ordering we were told that there would be a waiting time of 10mins. An hour later we finally got the food which wasn't great to say the least.
A few of us sat on the tiny sofas then in the dining area to try and get some sleep as check in wasn't until 3, there was a low table which one of my friends put his feet up on but was woken to be told to remove them, which was fair enough. However it wasn't until the next day that we found out ourselves that there was a room just off the lobby with large bean bags were people could lay and sleep!
The rooms were small and for a hostel considerably expensive. Ours didn't even have a window.

Won't be returning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello Tiernan M

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was concerned to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us and in particular the comments relating to your welcome at reception and wait for for food. Please rest assured these issues will be addressed.

Unfortunately all of the team, and I include myself in this, do not allow any of our customer s to sleep in The Ware Rooms and if noticed, the people concerned are woken and reminded that the bar is a licensed area. I am not aware of any licensed premises where the staff would condone customers sleeping during operating hours.

The Bean Bag room to which you refer is also not a sleeping area but an informal lounge with TV and Xbox provided for guest use. If we discover any guests sleeping they are woken and advised to return to their rooms.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Upon arrival we were seen immediately and the check in service was very good. The room was quite basic but also quite modern. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is central and walking distance to all local amenities. A very impressive hostel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello G_MC16

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

I was very happy to see your positive comments and that you appeared to have enjoyed your time with us.

We treat all feedback from our guests very seriously and it was great to note so many positives in your comments.

Thanks once again for your review. I do hope you will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

an unforgettable experience. one of the finest hostels that i've ever seen. the only thing that differs them from the hotel is the bunk beds otherwise its better than a hotel !! comfortable beds that made me sleep the whole day!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hello priyankit

Thank you very much for writing such a great review on your recent stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

It was fantastic to see such a positive review and it seemed that we exceeded your expectations in every aspect of hostel accommodation.

Thanks again for your kind words and I do hope you will come and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 79 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 2*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euro Hostel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.