We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Oul Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Euro Hostel Newcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Euro Hostel Newcastle to your Saves list
Euro Hostel Newcastle
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Gorey, Wexford, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grand Oul Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

First impressions of the place were poor. We arrived with all of our luggage, and went to check in, but the girl at the desk didn't accept fifty pound notes (We all had fifties and no change). She advised us to go to a bank and change these, which was fine, but she wouldn't accept our bags and we had to carry them around for an hour while we found somewhere that would change fifty pound notes.

After that we had no problems. We drank in the bedroom and the common room and the staff didn't mind, even the barman gave us a bucket of ice one night for our rooms. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were warm. The hostel was also quite cheap and the facilities were grand. A good place to go for young people and students.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hi Chris M

Thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel for tripadvisor.

I was very pleased to note you enjoyed your time with us at the hostel and found our team to be hospitable and friendly.

Unfortunately we have been advised by the local bank not to accept £50 notes owing to a flood of forgeries in the local area however there are a number of banks within five minutes of the hostel that could change the notes into smaller denominations.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    40
    21
    24
See reviews for
15
15
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel: Euro Hostel, Newcastle
On the 15th of January me and 7 other friends went to Newcastle for 4 days. We stayed in Euro Hostels. We arrived at the hostel at 12 and we could only check in at 3 but when we arrived they said we would be allowed check in early free of charge. I had to sign off a few documents and then we all got our keys for the room. The hostel was very safe. You could only get into the lift if you had a key card so this made us feel better knowing random people couldn’t just walk in. After a day of looking around the shops we had dinner in the hostel. We all ordered different food. The food was cheap and was very nice and well laid out. The next morning we went down to get our breakfast and realised that the hostel only served toast. We thought that that wasn’t good and it was a let-down so we had to go find somewhere else to eat. The rest of the stay was up to standard. It was a very nice stay and I would go back to Euro Hostel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello Emma D

Thanks for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

It was fantastic to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay in Newcastle and you found the hostel and the team to your liking.

Regarding our continental breakfast offering, there is a full continental range to go with the toast including tea, coffee, orange and apple juice, a minimum of three types of cereal, fruit salad, natural yoghurt as well as a selection of preserves to accompany your toast. All of which are complimentary and residents are encouraged to return to the buffet as much as they want.

Thanks again for your comments. We value all feedback from our guests and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I am just back from a 2 night stay in the euro hostel. I was in a group of 8 and we honestly couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The location was PERFECT for everything..restaurants, clubs, shopping etc. The staff were so nice and helped with any query we had. The room was a little cramped but it was clean, modern and comfortable so we didn't mind at all. Newcastle is an incredible city and we all hope to go back again soon and will 100% stay in the euro hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello D4dolly

Thanks for taking time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to read your comments on the hostel and the team and the fact that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hostel on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Myself and a group of friends booked two rooms for two nights and it was our first visit to the city.

Pros:
Easy to find the hostel and it's in a central location
Good lively bar
Helpful and friendly staff
Clean room
Cheap

Cons:
Room was small and very warm
Bathroom was small
Key card for the room didn't work so staff had to let us in to the room
Noisy guests and housekeeping

Overall, it was fine for what it was and good enough value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Hello Rokan72

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

Overall it appears you seem to enjoy your stay with us but I appreciate that there were a couple of points that concerned you which we will of course investigate and correct these at the first availability.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

myself and friend wen to visit a friend in middlesbrough at uni and decided to stay in newcastle the sat nite we were not sure wat 2expect as have had bad hostel experince before but it was fantastic staff were very friendly room was clean, spacious and i have actually stayed in hotels dat hasn been as good! beds were comfy and pillows were amazing! only 1 downfall we got chicken and bacon panni's and we didn like them was basically no filling and was over done this has defo not put me off coming back as i plan 2come back with ma partner! over all fantastic stay :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Carol

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

It was pleasing to note that you seemed to enjoy your stay with and, on the whole, we seemed to exceed your expectations.

Thanks for the feedback on the paninis. This has already been fed back to our team and supplier for immediate improvement.

We hope you will come and see us again soon. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Triple room for £42 with student discount, opted for the extra £9 for 2pm checkout.

Never seen a hostel like it. More like a hotel. Massive room which could have slept 5 all to ourselves (two sets of bunkbeds, one of them double). Bathroom and shower very clean as was the room. Did the job. It was more like a wetroom, but what more do you need?

Overall, an excellent stay, ensuite room with bedding and towels provided for £14 each! Bargain! Didn't have time to sample the breakfast (I was still asleep)

Excellent staff too, especially the receptionist who checked us in, very chatty and very nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hello Stiofan88

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read your comments, particularly on the friendly and chatty team members.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

coming to newcastle to party with a girlfriend we were looking for cheap accommodation so we chose the euro hostel, a bit sceptical of our decision, when we arrived that was changed, it is more like a hotel then a hostel, we had a private room on the first floor, room was spacious, clean and had good beds, had heating and had a window with a view, staff were very friendly and helpful and were very welcoming to guests, the hostel is in a great location to newcastle nightlife,shops and the quayside and eating areas, the pub downstairs is also a great place to pre drink and eat with cheap prices and good food good place to meet other hostel goers too, the bathrooms in the room were decent aswell, all in all a great experience, defenitley value for money and if I ever return to newcastle I would defenitley stay here again!

the only negative of our trip was the noise of other guests at 5 in the morning, but ohwell!

Thankyou euro hostel!

guest!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Hi Molly0804

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to note that you seemed to enjoy every aspect of your stay with us.

Your feedback is very important to us, both to ensure the standards of service we offer remain high and to improve on any areas of concern.

Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 2*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Euro Hostel Newcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.