We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must have hit a bad day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Newcastle South to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle South
Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £63
Bristol
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We must have hit a bad day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have stayed at other hotels in this chain and they've all been very good to excellent and at a very good price.

The reception was very good and helpful and informative. The parking excellent though due to its location you have to drive to the nearest junction after exiting the A1. It is ideal for trips to Newcastle, Gateshead and the Metro Centre. Almost walking distance if you like a good walk.

Ideal for A1 travellers as you can almost see it from the road.

The views are of the industrial estate/ business park.

The bad bit was the lack of restaurant facilities on that day due to technical problems. We solved it by eating elsewhere. Fish and chips down by a beach about 20 mins away along a dual carriageway. The kitchen problems were continued into the next morning at breakfast.

Other than that very good and a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    45
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
32
5
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Staff were fantastic - did everything that was asked of them, and all with a smile. Big Thanks go to Norrie and Julie for all their help during our stay. Would highly recommend to friends and family, and will definitely stay there again next time we are up that way!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Premier Inn Newcastle South.
You comments have been passed to the relevant team members.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

Janet Jubb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Not too far from Newcastle centre. Very clean rooms. Excellent customer service from
all staff. Even received a call a few days before the visit confirming room requirements.. Would stay again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before we were not sure what to expect, however we need not have worried from booking online to checking out it couldn't have been easier. We received a phone call whilst on route to give us helpful directions for when we got there.The staff were so helpful throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble from extra pillows to giving us directions. The breakfasts were great, again nothing too much trouble and the evening meals were reasonably priced pub grub with good service. Would not hesitate in using Premier Inn again & would definately recommend Newcastle South! Thanks!

Room Tip: Good ocation for Beamish museum. Opt for a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Premier Inn newcastle South.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distanct future
Janet Jubb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

For some unknown reason staying at a Premier Inn never appealed to me. Going to Newcastle for a family celebration, we found that this was the closest hotel to the party venue and several family members were booking here.
I was amazed at how clean and comfortable it was, and every member of staff went out of their way to be helpful..... I will be looking at Premier Inns in future when I am staying away from home. I can honestly recommend this one, I had the best nights sleep ever......
Our thanks go to all the staff for making us so welcome and I hope we see you all again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at Newcastle South Premier Inn.
I will pass on the comments to all the team
We all look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Janet Jubb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

fantastic relaxing hotel everything you could ask for is all under 1 roof literaly !! will deffinatly recomend!! and will deffinatly stay again thank you !! <3 . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .. .. . . <3 the bride and groom 28th july 2012

Room Tip: dont just think a cheap room is ging to be cheap qualitly try b4 you buy as it says you get a full m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments recieved after your recent stay at Newcastl South Premier Inn.
We all look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Janet Jubb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ive stayed in Premier Inn's before but Ive never had service as good as what was offered from the people who worked here!! Nothing was too much trouble and they took an interest in why you were staying in the hotel and were never short on offering advice or help in getting to places, often asking before your conversation had ended any relevant questions!
The rooms were clean and tidy and despite being off a motorway was quite quiet in the night. The location is good, being not far from the city centre and using a private hire cab only cost around £6.50. A black cab came in around a tenner, with the journey around ten minutes at the most.
The breakfast was well worth the value and I can honestly say I hardly had to eat another thing for most of the day!! If I go to Newcastle again I will most probably be staying here again..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments regarding your stay at Newcastle South Premier Inn.
These comments will be passed onto all the team.
We all look forward to welcoming back to the hotel in the not to distant future.

Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.