We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Beds at the Premier Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £68
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Comfy Beds at the Premier Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I love the premier inn, the beds are so comfy and they are the best in for your money with a budget hotel. I wouldn't say the Newcastle Quayside one is the best PI I've stayed in but for price and location very good.

Room Tip: Is a busy central location so expect some outside noise expesh on a Friday/Saturday but thick curain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    276
    122
    37
    22
See reviews for
147
234
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in the Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside in November 2012, we had two rooms as I was their with my two daughters and my mother. We were having an early Christmas shopping trip away. Rooms were ok, but have stayed in better Premier Inns. Rooms were noisy as the hotel is situated on a busy road and there was also noise from people passing by from nearby pubs, therefore I recommend you ask for a quiet room whilst booking, I suppose it would depend the position of your room to what the noise level would be. Quite close to good shopping, and a short taxi ride away from the city centre. Breakfast served in the morning was not the best, again have had better in a Premier Inn. Ok for a one night stay, but would not rush back.

Room Tip: request a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Eventually found the hotel after originally arriving at a nearby Premier Inn. I had booked a parking space at the hotel's car park which was good - no idea where any other parking was! Lifts had notice which explained that certain "projects" were in hand within the hotel (always a bit of a worry!) Had to contact reception to request additional pillows and a tv remote control. Decent location for Quayside area but a bit noisy at night, but I guess this was to be expected.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Where do I start, check in. The queue was huge with just one poor girl who was lovely by the way and after 30 minutes two more staff appeared, it still took another fifteen minutes but at last I thought great checked in and ready to go, we had booked three rooms and had requested all to be together which we didnt get ours was around the corner so thought ok no problems that is until we got to our room
We opened the door and the TV was on with clearly a man still in bed, back to reception so room two we opened the door and it had not been cleaned after the last guests, room three and yes by the way we are getting further away from our friends and family, door opened at first sight appeared ok, the fact my husband couldnt get down the side of the bed as it was so tight, not enough towels and so so cold even with the heating turned up fully we thought just settle in as time was getting on considering we had arrived at 2.15 and was now 3.45 and not a bag unpacked it was quickly eating into our stay.
First night sleep was good but then when Friday came OMG the BOOM BOOM began we were above a night club I thought it was shut down but clearly not so no we didnt get our good night sleep again after this infact no one in our party did, our room was above the entrance for all the early morning deliveries that a busy hotel need and of the the dustbin collection,
So dont stay in rooms 105, and up to 116 as you will have the same experience.
We were refunded for our first night only.
I stay in Premier Inns all the time but this one I have to say needs a bit of attention to say the least.
I want to finish on a positive the breakfast was great and top tip if you dont pay for breakfast during the night we had a voucher put under our door with a £1 reduction each.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms 105 up to 116 as you a are above a night club and will NOT get a good nights sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

booked for the location, and having read the previous review knew what to expect, booked the car parking in advance, but had great trouble even getting into the car park as the road access was closed on the day of arrival due to a Sunday market on the quay side, and the access roads were closed, had to stop a policeman and ask how we got into the place, we had to go up a one way road to get in!! the place is very old and as previous review say it could do with a tad updating, that said it was really busy as Nicki Minaj was playing and the place was full!! Sunday nite as well. The bar staff and the reception staff were fine and friendly enough, the room was in need of a make over and the window over looked the yard with a brick wall and air conditioning units in full view, the building itself was very old and reminded us of an old hospital with its old staircase which was as quick as the tiny lift we need to get to the 4Th floor.

unfortunately our trip was cut short by a nite as we had bad news and had to return home only after one nite, on the way home our son was very sick and he had put this down to the premier inn stay, although we don't know if this was the case. I would not go back to Newcastle as i found it a bit of a dirty town but there were elements of good!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the bars and restaurants and St James Park. You can book parking before you travel which is literally underneath the hoteI, would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was expecting the usual friendly Northern welcome, but didnt get it. The lady on reception was very unhappy looking, and advised us of the 'good night sleep policy' but in such a way as though she was making out we were gonna have a wild party in our room (we are Commercial engineers and were stood there in our uniforms) hardly party atire ?? Overall most of the staff at this hotel seemed 'put out' at having to have any gueats at all! On a lighter note, breakfast was lovely with lots of choice on offer. Also, the beds were pushed too close together, myself and my7 other engineer had about 5 inches of space between us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;