We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location, great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the bars and restaurants and St James Park. You can book parking before you travel which is literally underneath the hoteI, would definitely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    260
    120
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
221
41
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I was expecting the usual friendly Northern welcome, but didnt get it. The lady on reception was very unhappy looking, and advised us of the 'good night sleep policy' but in such a way as though she was making out we were gonna have a wild party in our room (we are Commercial engineers and were stood there in our uniforms) hardly party atire ?? Overall most of the staff at this hotel seemed 'put out' at having to have any gueats at all! On a lighter note, breakfast was lovely with lots of choice on offer. Also, the beds were pushed too close together, myself and my7 other engineer had about 5 inches of space between us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is the worst Premier Inn Hotel that I've ever stayed in beating my previous worst hotel, it's sister hotel the Newcastle Central. I had to keep checking that I was in fact staying at a Premier Inn.
Upon arrival I was greeted with an unnecessary amount of entrance doors that took me to a reception that is clearly dated. I found the staff to be helpful and professional but lacking friendliness. After checking in I took one of the dated, dirty and knocked about lifts to the third floor.
A walk down the dull but clean looking corridor brought me to my room where upon inspection I found the room to look visually clean with an ageing carpet laid on top of creaking floorboards.
The usually large bed was situated in such a way that on the side next to the bathroom wall one had to shuffle sideways down the gap to climb into bed.
The old large wooden sash windows were only single glazed so the noise from the wind and rain, of people leaving a club/pub and from bins being emptied at 5 am made it impossible to get a good nights sleep and a television that kept switching itself off and needed constant resetting didn't help me through the night.
The single electric heater (no A/C here) was controlled by a thermostat that was temperamental and with a short 'on' period timer.
The bathroom had a steel bath which was rusty around the taps and there was mildew on many of the lower wall tiles. Some of the tiling had been 'bodge' repaired with some of the adhesive (not the grouting I hasten to add) discoloured.
The grilles on both the wastes were blackened with age and the bathroom internal door furniture was hanging off, but the water from the tap was hot!!! The twin flush for the toilet didn't work and looking for the toilet paper was an interesting exercise.
I concluded that an alternative room would not improve upon what I was already given and wondered how and why the hotel (and we are talking here about a hotel group that is proud of winning awards for being voted the best for budget hotels!) had been left to get into such a state by not only the hotel management but by the company surveyors!
Come on Premier Inns; get yourselves together, fix this place up, or sell it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here for a short break in December. The location of the hotel is fantastic, right on the quayside literally under the Tyne Bridge. The staff were very very friendly and were kind enough to move our room around as we checked in early so we could have our room straight away.

The bed was very comfy and I slept very well.

However, I so feel some of the rooms could do with being updated. The furniture was very dated, and the room was so small that my girlfriend couldn't get round her side of the bed and had to climb in from the end. I'm not sure if all the rooms were like this or just ours, but compared to other premier inns we've stayed in it wasn't up to the same standard.

Also, the room could have done with a more thorough clean. There were hairs in the bath and a new plug hole was definitely needed.

We paid £88 for two nights, which I have to say was excellent value for money. The location is really what sells this place, and for a city break it was what we were looking for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed on 14th & 15th December with some friends who were first time visitors to Newcastle. Our rooms were on the 4th Floor & at the back of the hotel which meant that they were quiet so had a good nights sleep. The rooms were clean & comfortable. We had also booked car parking spaces which is a must as there aren't very many spaces for the number of rooms in the hotel. There was a small charge for this of £7 per car per night. Breakfast is of a good standard with plenty of choice. We'll all be back soon!

Room Tip: High floor and at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Started off badly when we booked online but then had to amend, with resulting complete confusion over a car parking space. This was eventually sorted out over the phone, but not until I asked to speak to the manager. We started off with a nice double room, spotlessly clean, on the 4th floor. Unfortunately we were unable to sleep because of the very loud constant noise coming from some constantly loud and unidentified machinery - sounded like a generator or air con - coming from several doors away. We couldn't phone down to reception as the internal phones were out of order. We had trouble finding our way down to reception at 12.30 a.m. due partly to lack of signs and then because the lift from our floor took us to the ground floor, but we then had to go back up to the first floor to find a different lift to take us to the other side of a locked door, as they didn't want people getting into the closed bar. The receptionist was very good and gave us a different room and refunded our money. We were also given a free breakfast the next morning. They said there had not been any complaints about the noise before and that maintenance staff would be looking into it. Let's hope they sort it out, as the staff were all excellent, the rooms were clean and the location was just right for what we needed.

Room Tip: Refuse any room on the 4th floor - lift problems and noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Online Customer Service Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Everything about the Premier Inn Quayside turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The location was even better than I’d thought – right at the foot of the Tyne Bridge a lovely view of the Tyne. The welcome in reception was the sort you’d hope to get at a full service hotel, with a really friendly and helpful approach. The room was huge, with a view of the Tyne Bridge – I understand the Family Rooms are the ones with the best view. I was on the top floor, and didn’t have any noise problems at all.

Although the breakfast was rather pricey, it did really deliver what was advertised – a wider selection of good quality food than you’d get in most hotels – and you are free to pick what you want. Add to that a table with a spending view of the Quay and the bridges etc, and it would be difficult to beat.

There was a full Freeview service on the TV, and the hotel wi-fi was one of the fastest I can remember (although perhaps I was lucky that it was an off-peak time). A useful feature was that you could have 30 minutes for free, and then decide if you wanted to pay £3 for 24 hours. Given it was so quick I paid for it even though I had a smart phone / mobile broadband with me.

You can step out of the door for a nice walk along the Quayside, with easy access to the Quaylink buses which run either side of the river and can take you up the hill to the shopping, rail station, the bus station or a few choices of metro station (only £2 for an all-day ticket).

I used to use Premier Inns a lot, going back many years and a couple of name changes, but hadn’t visited one for a couple of years as their rates had gone so high, and they didn’t offer the sort of discounts you might get at a Travelodge, but clearly they have continued to improve such that they seem well ahead of what you might expect at Travelodge.

Room Tip: The Family Rooms are the ones with the best view of the Quayside. The top floor rooms (level 5) are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#11 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.