We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Certificate of Excellence
Wetherby
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed one night as went to a concert at the Metro Arena & got a room for just £29. Great location on the Quayside & not far to walk to the city centre.We used the car park underneath the hotel which was £7 for the night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    366
    168
    47
    27
See reviews for
195
346
51
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
spasmo79
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Booked the hotel for a 2 night break with my husband, I have stayed in Premier Inns before so thought I knew what to expect - clean, relatively decent sized room and not too pricey. Instead we got charged £177 for a 2night stay in a freezing dingy attic room. To get to our room we had to take what seemed like a service lift to the 4th floor then up another flight of stairs to the attic. There was a tiny window and a skylight with no blind. We tried to sleep through the night, but the heater kept switching off before really heating anything, the room that had been dingy in the daytime, was now bright with the light shining through the skylight (from the lights on the tyne bridge).

In the end my husband had to complain and try to get a different room which was not possible but he did get a very rude lady on reception (he can't remember her name), the one positive I will give is that the Premier Inn offer a 'Good Nights Sleep' policy, there was no way we were getting that, so we got a full refund (to be paid back in 3-5days). So almost as soon as the sun was up we left the hotel to find alternative accomodation (The Jurys Inn, near the train station was brilliant and cheaper).

So a big word of advice on booking this hotel (if your really want to) DO NOT stay in any rooms on the 5th floor. And to be honest there are plenty of other hotels closer to all the restaurants and shops !!

Room Tip: Avoid the 5th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments.

We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel. Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here back in October for 5 nights and the room (99) was on the first floor with a brilliant view of the tyne bridge (worth alot more than I paid for it!) The room itself was huge! With plenty of luggage space and wardrobe space and being on the first floor really helped after long days of shopping.
The hotel is a short walk from the city centre although there is a bus running regularly to and from outside the hotel to the city centre with good links to the metro service aswell as buses to the airport, metrocentre and Sunderland.
The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful even after I managed to break my room key (Tip: Dont store it in the same pocket as your mobile phone, It stops the door card from working!) Bringing my pizza up to my room was never too much trouble for them either.
I cant review the breakfast or carpark as I used neither facilities, all in all I would highly recommend this hotel although if you value your sleep after 6am prehaps ask for a different room that isnt 99.

Room Tip: 99 was noisy after 6am however I had managed to sleep through it. The room had very oddly placed plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Millenium premier Inn to go to a concert. Reception could not be helpful enough and were so friendly. We had the Meal deal and the food was very good quality and a good selection and my son LOVED the all you can eat breakfast. I cannot recommend this hotel and staff highly enough and YES we did have a great night's sleep

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough - uk
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night as was in town watching a concert at the Metro Radio Arena.

Had a huge room, very nice big bed, lots of space for luggage. Staff were great. Considering how close to the quayside the hotel is it wasn't overly noisy. The bar itself and the hotel menu looked lovely although we never used either.

No comparison to the Travelodge round the corner where we stayed recently. This hotel was far superior so would highly recommend it. Would look to book here first above any hotels in Newcastle when staying again. Extremely good value if you can get the cheap rate on offer.

Points to note, there are a couple of bars underneath/next to hotel but shouldn't spoil your stay. The train station, shops and Arena are all within walking distance if required.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights over a weekend. Obviously very popular and expensive for a Premier Inn.
Located in the 'clubbing' area but no soundproofing! Our room (99) was on the first floor corner at the front and with old sash windows was like being on the street with the revellers.
Managed to change to the fourth floor at the back which was much quieter.
Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts.
Book car parking early if you need it (£7 per night!).
This hotel badly needs double/triple glazing but if you get a quiet room or don't mind the noise it is fine.
Another time we would consider staying at one of the many Premier Inns on the edge of Newcastle which can be a lot cheaper (And Quieter!) and get a taxi to/from the centre.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front unless you have earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed during the week for £39, worth every penny. Room was a ok size and clean. Could hear the nightclub at the side of the hotel but didn't stop us having a good sleep. Worth the money and would use them again. Also worth pre booking the car park.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Millennium Bridge
Premier Inn Newcastle Millennium...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Central
Premier Inn Newcastle Central
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#28 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: The Quayside | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.