We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Stained carpets overpriced beware!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dirty Stained carpets overpriced beware!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

My partner and I went to see Peter Kay at the Metro Arena (which was very good by the way) we decided to stay at at this hotel as we have stayed in many Holiday Inn's before. On arrival the staff did not seem interested on helping us and on asking where the Metro arena was they just pointed to the door and said its over there somewhere. On the way to our room we noticed stains on the carpets and when we got to our rooms there were stains on our carpets and on the bed clothes. It was dusty and the bathroom was dirty and smelt of damp. There were no complementary soaps or shampoo just a vertually empty bottle that does everything attached to the wall. After going to the concert we came back and had a drink in the bar when we could get somebody to serve us. The drinks as always are overpriced in Hotels and you expect to be ripped off so we were not too bothered about this. The real problem was the breakfast the next morning. Allthough we were quite late down (9.30am) but still well before they were closing. They had no bacon left no eggs some dreadfull beans and a few raw sausages. The coffee was vile and the bread was going stale. The waitress did eventually bring out some scrambled eggs that were so runny and undercooked we didnt bother. The fruit juice was nice and the crossiants were ok but they only had marmalde left which dodesn't really go but hey ho it filled me up for nearly 8 minutes. To top it all off when it came to paying for the bill they tried to charge us £15 extra for the room. We eventually got it sorted when the receptionist blamed another member of staff. All in all the Hotel was very poor with lazy staff and is really in need of a good clean and new carpets. It is however a great location and Newcastle is a nice City. I know it sounds like im been picky but im a great believer in you get what you pay for, this is not a cheap hotel and there are many better ones that are cheaper. My advice is avoid avoid avoid!!
CJS

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    263
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
79
193
56
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

staff very friendly and helpful, rooms clean and warm, great location for trains,buses and metro, and of course shopping, all within walking distance. Stayed from 18 to 21 Nov 2010 and found everything to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

Stayed here to celebrate a birthday in Nov 2010. Hotel is all that you would expect of a Holiday Inn but the staff were really helpful, took an interest in our holiday and were only too happy to help with maps and questions.
One area i was disappointed with was housekeeping and even after I raised an issue, it was not dealt with but it was a weekend and the hotel was busy so maybe just an off moment
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Have stayed several times this year and other years, The staff are faultless, polite, attentive and willing to assist, the rooms are tidy and very good for a budget hotel, the location is great, car park next door (Chargeable) but very cheap after 5pm.
Certainly the best HIEXP i have stayed at in the UK.
Top marks to the staff and Manager.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This is a typical city centre hotel but provides a convenient, comfortable, pleasant and clean experience. The staff are particularly friendly and very helpful in assisting with guest problems. Adjacent economic car park. Will go back

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Although the staff were friendly and helpful the rooms were not cleaned properly between days (eg. sinks not wiped, dishes not removed) and one of our showers hadn't been cleaned properly between prior to arrival! By far the greatest let down was the awful breakfast and dinning experience. Very poorly staffed which meant you were eating amongst piles of dirty dishes. Poor choice of food and servery often empty of food with spilages on the floor and no utensils etc., machines not working and nobody around to ask for help.When you did see somebody they were clearly rushed off their feet working in servery and in the kitchens- cleaning and cooking! YUK! Worst breakfast experience in 13 years of city breaks! The next day was exactly the same, sadly!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights. Excellent location 5 minutes walk from the railway station. Good-sized comfortable room, friendly staff.

Paid £55 a night as an advance-booking deal, which I thought excellent value.

Newcastle itself makes a good location for a short break, plenty to see and do, excellent public transport. My first time in the area, hope to come back.

One thing was a bit of a culture shock, we arrived just at the annual football derby between Newcastle and Sunderland had finished. The route from the ground to the station passes the hotel and the Sunderland fans were being escorted by police to the station. Hundreds of police in riot gear, police horses, dogs, I have never seen anything like it. Newcastle won 5-1 so it made for a lively evening in town later!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.