We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for stag/hen/large groups” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for stag/hen/large groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The staff at the hotel were great, very friendly and helpful. I was with a large group for a hen party. We went out for a quite meal on the Friday and I did not sleep a wink that night as there was a stag party on the same corridor running up and down, banging on doors and shouting. Maybe not always good to assume that a hen party will want to listen to this (they seemed to group them on floors together) we were a mixture of ages and not there just to get bladdered and make a noise! Didn't seem so bad on the saturday but that could be alcohol talking. Free breakfast was adequate and what I expect from HI Express. I did book a twin room and somehow ended up with a double and a camp bed which was not the most comfortable. As an IHG club member I would have hoped my room request would have been fulfilled but never mind. Rooms are a bit grotty, stains on carpets and sofa bed but I suppose this is due to the clientelle! Can't fault the staff but please don't stay here if you like a quiet nights sleep!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet rooms as the staff are great and if you ask they will try to place you away from par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear A3005J

Thank you for your review and in the detail in writing us the good and the opportunities to improve.Whilst I am pleased with the good I truly value the opportunities to improve as this gives us the chance to look in to our ways of working and change.Thanks again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    263
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
79
193
56
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed here in early Jan 2014 for one night. The room was nice and large, and the ensuite was nice too. Very clean and tidy, and very modern as well. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good. Very good value. Ideal location as just a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

First time visit for work. I was given a disabled access room ; though I don't need one so it was a very big room. It was on the second floor and the window faced the main road. I would request to stay on a higher floor in future as the noise was a bit distracting.
Free wifi was included which was great for doing some work.
Staff at reception great. I forgot my toothbrush so was provided with a free one.
Biggest issue was the lack if hot water in the morning. It was a hotel wide issue. Staff were very apologetic and extra reward points were given for the inconvenience.
Local city parking is nearby and was pretty cheap.
Breakfast was okay. Sausages a but dry. A bit more hot food variety would have been nice.
All in all though good value for money and I would stay here again as it's a great central location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear LizzieMo15

Many thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to post a review, it was great to read that you were able to take advanatage of our Free Wifi, breakfast and Forgotten items. We indeed have an issue with our Hot Water Supply during your stay what I am really please to see is that my colleagues delt with it swiftly and ensured you left happy. Luckily for everyone it was only off a short while as we were able to fix it very quickly. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon

Many thanks
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business last night and would certainly recommend to anyone visiting Newcastle. Location is excellent just a few minutes walk right into the centre and it was easy to find by car with a large multi story car park next door ( free after 5pm till 8am the following morning ). We didn't set here so can't comment on the food but breakfast look nice as we had a quick look as we left.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very good accommodation at the hotel and no complaints at all about breakfast! Plenty space for the four of us! A little noisy as we were overlooking the road not looking into courtyard but it is near the centre of Newcastle!! What I must say is, I was very very impressed by the really friendly and helpful staff. Thanks to them all. Would have no hesitation visiting again or recommending the hotel to others!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stay here regularly on business travel, staff are always accommodating and very, very helpful. The rooms are extremely clean and the size of room is suitable. Would definitely recommend any business travellers to stay here, close to the train station and metro and the breakfast is of a very good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor are by the main road, but that doesn't bother me
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a great bargain stay here for £25 in their sale. Room was well maintained as was the hotel in general. Priority Club members are automatically allocated rooms overlooking the courtyard for quietness, but any guest can ask for a room that doesn't face the busy main road. I found the breakfast to be to a very good standard and unlike other reviewers I saw nothing amiss with the size of the room where the self-service buffet was set out. Only minor gripe was how chilly the bedroom became overnight when I'd switched the air-con off, as even on the lowest speed setting the whirring sound isn't conducive to a good nights sleep. Luggage storage is free of charge for guests arriving before their room is ready, but a £2.50 charge applies for storing items after checking out of a room. Conveniently located hotel for those arriving by coach or train in particular. Set back from nightlife scene to minimise external disturbances.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are free of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.