We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel staff, great customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel staff, great customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express. I normally stay in Jury's however my sister had booked Jurys.
The staff where incredibley friendly at reception, in fact as it was Children's in Need they where all wearing onesies which was funny.
We had a tiny twin room, but it was perfect for our needs. It was a little cold but we soon warmed up once we learned how to use the heating system.
My only niggle about the Holiday Inn was that the breakfast area is a little cramped and a bit of a pain trying to get your grub.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear Katrina,

Thanks for taking the time over this busy time of year to write a review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am glad you found the onsies funny as all the staff here loved dressing u in them!

We hope you will stay with us again when you visit the City.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    263
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
79
193
56
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have just recently returned home after spending last week managing a tour for Albion Soccer Club from San Diego.
I stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and can honestly say that the staff were excellent through out.
Nothing was to much bother, and all enquiries and questions were dealt with in a positive manner.
This was the first time the company had used this hotel, but will definately be back.
Hotel is ideally situated for all attractions and only a few minutes walk into the city.
Would just like to thank Andrew and the staff once again, for making the trip such a great success.

Robin wood
Excel International Sports.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Mr Wood,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Thank you for your kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas from all the team at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.


Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

On first impression the room was clean, but inspection of the bed revealed serious faults. Yes indeed the sheets had been laundered, but sadly retained what were obviously semen stains- pretty yucky and should have been thrown away . The mattress was ripped and the bed base very dusty. A cheap, thin, synthetic, hair-encrusted, plastic-backed mattress protector ensured that little sleep would happen, particularly as air-conditioning wasn't satisfactory and a heavy synthetic duvet raised the temperature. Add to this the constant mega-loud traffic noise and I wasn't very happy in the morning. Dirty grouting in the bathroom and toothpaste stains in the basin completed the room's less-than clean picture.
This hotel is in a convenient central location and staff are lovely, but whoever spends the money here, needs to upgrade standards, employ more house-keeping staff who can do their jobs properly, remove ancient torn mattresses, thoroughly inspect ALL linens and replace stained items. I am not a fanatic, but when I stay in a hotel I need to ensure that my bed is clean - this is a fundamental requirement and everything else pales by comparison. Oh yes- breakfast was adequate. I definitely won't stay here again, but the staff are delightful!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Tessie1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its very to pleasing to hear the staff are lovely and delightful.

I am very sorry to hear you had some issues with the cleanliness of your bedroom during your stay and wondering if it would be possible for you to contact the hotel directly so we can rectify this problem.

On behalf of the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here a number of times. It is centrally located and excellent if you are going to the Arena, just a short walk away. Located nearby also Chinatown. This is a holiday inn express, and anyone who travels knows what their breakfasts are, so I am amazed at some reviews expecting something more. Also hotel is immaculate and staff friendly. There is a secure car park next to hotel which is only £5. Obviously depending upon the evening you go, it is a party city. However the hotel do realise this and all you have to do is when booking request a quiet room, they do have quiet floors where they put us all together. Excellent hotel, lovely staff, immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at such a busy time of the year.

It always makes the staff and I very happy to hear we are lovely.We hope you will stay with us again when you visit our city.

On behalf of all the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am writing this from my hotel room as I can't sleep, nothing to do with being in the city centre,I can handle that..but it is now 01.45 and I have been trying to sleep for 2 hours..there is a constant distant humming, sounds like someone is vacuuming! Or a dim drilling noise.. And it's been going on for ages...add that to this constant sound of what seems to be a very loud light switch being turned off and on repeatedly from the room next door...surely can't be it's been doing it for 3 hrs...

I drove up from north of London today to meet up with my son to drive him home from university tomorrow for the Xmas holidays. The hotel itself is decent, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable so no complaints on that score. Also great location, 5 mins walk to St James's and 10 to Eldon Square shopping..

Just wish I could get some sleep ahead of the long drive back tomorrow...:-(

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sjc1965,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a great nights sleep when you stayed with us.Please could you get in touch with the hotel and let us know your room number so we can look into this problem.However we do have staff on duty 24 hours a day and i do wish you would have contacted us so we could of rectified this problem before your departure.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies and i hope this will not stop you from staying with us in the future.

Merry Christmas.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle for 6 nights. Our room was clean, modern, bed sheets/linen were exceptionally soft, mattress comfortable, and at least on the 5th floor it was nicely quiet during night time.

However, don't expect too much from the breakfast: It was rather simple (no veggies at all) and every morning they were running out of some food, so be prepared to wait for a while if you want e.g. scrambled eggs with beans. Also, free WiFi connection is quite slow. TIP: If you're staying for several nights, ask WiFi code for multiple days. We received on our first 2 days a code, which allowed us to use the Internet only for 24 hours, so we had to pick up each time a new code from reception, until someone realized to give us a code for 4 days. Also, as you can connect only one device/code, I think they should give the codes based on the number of guests, not rooms (as me and my fiancé both needed to use our laptops).

Then again, this is affordable hotel with excellent location, so I guess you can't get it all! Nevertheless, I'll be happy to stay in this hotel again, and thus can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Tukri

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us your review whilst everything during your stay was not 100% satisfactory I am glad you are going to be staying with us again. With regards to WIFI you rightly so should have been given a code for your whole stay and I apologise you were not however your code operates two devices so you should have both been able to work. When staying again if you have any issues just contact any team member who will be glad to help.

Hope to see you soon

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed for a few nights in November. Reception staff were friendly and explained everything we needed to know about the hotel clearly. Room was clean and comfortable, decent TV and free but slowish WiFi. Bathroom was clean, so the important things are correct. The breakfast was OK for me, but the room where the food is laid out is a bit on the tiny side.
A small amount of noise outside in the early hours, but this is a hotel in Newcastle not a rural retreat.
The hotel is easy to find when driving up from the south. It's a short walk to a good selection of bars and places to eat.
The nearby car park has way too many privilege type parking bays which visitors can't use so watch out for them. It's cheap by UK standards at £5 a day and very close to the hotel. Though for some reason there are steps between the two not a ramp.
If we go back to Newcastle will more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear BrianBasil,

Thanks for taking the time out your busy day to review our hotel here in Newcastle city centre.

Its wonderful to hear that if you do visit Newcastle again you will stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the WIFI was slowish but for a small fee of £5 you can purchase high speed internet access for up to 3 devices.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.