We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good city centre location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

A good location if you are travelling by car or rail. a quiet hotel with no issues on the numerous stays made at such. There is very good Indian restaurant next to the hotel, Akbars, would highly recommend if you like quality food and surroundings. The road to the front of the hotel can be a little loud if you like to sleep with the window open. Overall, a very nice and spotlessly clean hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.
Should you like your window open then simply request a hight floor or room at the back next time and we will ensure your requests are noted. I am also glad you enjoyed Ackbars restaurant as it is one of the staff's favourite
May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Newcastle.

Kind Regards,
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    314
    131
    46
    21
See reviews for
97
233
63
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Due to extremely unfortunate circumstances I found myself stranded in Newcastle on Christmas Day.. Originally from Bristol I didn't know the area and couldn't get a train back home until 27th Dec. I phoned the hotel in a very distressed state and I must say the customer service I received was first class. Derek was working that night, he organised a taxi to pick me up and take me to the hotel, when I arrived he made me feel very welcome, he calmed me down, showed me to my room and was extremely pleasant. He took the time to make sure that I was OK before leaving. I cannot thank him enough for the excellent customer service that he showed me. He really is a credit to the hotel. Thank you Derek

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review, We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. This review is also extra special as it mention's Derek, one of my night team who often get forgotten about. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre is a simple and clean hotel close to the Central Station and St James Park. Check-inn was fast and the bedroom and bathroom are average sized but clean. We stayed two nights in room 323, arriving on Saturday December 15 and, although basic, we enjoyed our stay there. There is a free breakfast included in the room rate, but the choice is limited. Only eggs, sausage and cheese. No bacon, ham or mushrooms. But it is a start for your day. If it is busy (in the weekend when Newcastle United has a home match) you will have to wait long before a table becomes available. But with a cheap room rate and a central location, the hotel offers value for your money.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from stag or hen nights and other parties because especially during weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of recent stay with us.I am glad that you were able to enjoy our complimentary breakfast as you say it can be busy on weekends so the earlier you can come down the better.Thanks again for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed in there for 12 days feeling like i was home and the staff with no exception are so friendly and helpful. Although the bus stops and taxis are just out of the door, all the important sites are just walking distance. I just LOVED it there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations and you loved our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed here with a group of work colleagues - rooms were clean and tidy, and nice and quiet even though its right in the heart of the city and a few minutes walk from train station and pubs. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and went beyond the call of duty when we were stuck with one of our challenges for our team night out treasure hunt - Andrew your a star singer! definately stay there again, next time i'm in newcastle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you fo your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that Andrew gave such great service to you and maybe even helped you win your treasure hunt, he will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights from 7th till 9th December and would thoroughly recommend it. All the staff were so courteous and helpful and could not do enough for us when one of our group took ill, especially John, Lee and Kimberley. We would definitely stay here again. Great central location. Lovely rooms, sparkling clean and great breakfast made our stay so enjoyable. If you are heading to Newcastle this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you fo your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that John, Lee and Kimberley helped you when one of your party became ill, they will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Had a great week-end just the job the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle the rooms neat and tidy the staff welcoming no problems with parking especially good if you have a blue card nothing to pay and if not no evening charge or £5.00 for twenty four hours stay.
Hotel has a free breakfast bar continental and hot breakfast not to fancy but good and easy to use felt relaxed in their lounge / Dinner had a read at the free papers over breakfast.
Staff could not do enough for us thats my wife and two sister and self my wife needs to use a wheel chair now and again as she gets weak with Chemo therapy due to her fight with cancer no problem with the chair the wife's a different story when her and the sisters gang up on me.
Seriously Lee one of the lads on reception put us right for the xmas market and a nice itallian meal at Roberto,s on westgate road first night there walking distance even with the chair had a sumtious meal with wine and a few wee ones music in the back ground I am sure I saw a glisten in the wife,s eye might have been a splash of rosey on my glasses staff were great fantastic value whole nights enjoyment with great food and beverages nice and cosy less than £20 a head with full biffta.
Had a late night cap in the hotel at the bar a big barrel of ice for the last one before lights out up stairs.
Big breakfast and out and arround in the morning shop to you drop sisters in action great place for shopping Newcastle the girls really enjoyed theselfs had a light lunch finnished the marathon shop back to the hotel for a wee kip awoke fresh as a mountain daisy talked with Lee at the reception their all great on the recption he booked us a table at the Landside Chinese resturant for 8PM suggested a drink in Rosies bar just opposite the resturant and organised us a taxi although its walking distance in china town from the hotel needed it for the wife who had decided to go out chairless.
We had a great night the music and atmospherein Rosies is great the Resturant offered set banquets you choose which one one you want or in my case the girls choose what I wanted the table reserved was just perfect one of those leather round seating couches around the table service just the bees knees the girls looking after you make you feel welcome the food we chose could only be descriped as fabulouse with good music in the back ground with a nice bottle of wine and a few wee ones they called us a taxi and poured us in after a realy good evening straight to bed before we woke up refreshed nice shower leisurly breakfast and off home with the three witches oops sisters great weekend great staff hotel was all you need would I stay there again you bet I would I hope I can get a booking for my birthday. Give it a try you wont be sorry.

P.S Had one drink in the Dog its on the way back to the hotel its great fun especially for the gay minded and were straight.

Room Tip: Its a city hotel in a square did not hear any noise A/C was quiete book early so as not to be disapo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your great review.We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially glad that Lee gave such great service to you, he will be thrilled to read such kind words.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.