We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
West Midlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Can't fault it for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located a five minute walk away from Newcastle Central station and has lots of food outlets nearby. Its also only a short walk to the main shopping area. despite its really central location its pretty quiet and i got four decent nights sleep.The hotel is very clean but basic - exactly what you'd expect from a holiday inn express. The staff are friendly and polite. Breakfast is basic and the ingredients aren't of a fantastic quality but it's fine and is filling and fresh.I was here for work and am booking to return again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    263
    116
    43
    19
See reviews for
79
193
56
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Spent one night in this hotel whilst on a 2 day shopping trip in Newcastle. Although basic, definite value for money and excellent service ! One member of staff stood out in particular - Lee - for several reasons: as we were arriving earlier than normal check in, he arranged for our room to be ready upon our arrival so we could leave our cases etc, he was super friendly and also recommended places to eat near by when we returned from our days shopping and was very attentive and coversational at all times. He certainly made us feel very welcome at the hotel and although not a 5 star hotel, we received 5 star service !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stated in this hotel for business and pleasure over several years I have found the staff helpful and the hotel is comfortable enough and superbly located for road or rail access as well for the city centre attractions.
If you get a room at the front be prepared for the bin men or bottle deliveries to wake you up at about 6.30.
I understand they plan to get new TVs in 2013 but I have found that at least half of my visits (dozens) have be blighted by the TV in the room turning themselves off after about 5 minutes. Annoying or what!
breakfast is fine, and the same as you get in most Holiday Inns BUT why oh why do they water down the orange juice? It takes a good rating down to average

Room Tip: You want a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good and the really good comments, I truly value the bad comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made. We are indeed getting new flat screen TV's in the future but will pass on your comments to our supplier with regard to them switching on and off during your visit
kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here with our two young children. Highly recommended, great value, breakfast was superb!
Travelled by train and it's just a short walk from the station. Location is slap bang in the city centre.
Would definitely stay here again. Buy a travel pass and hop-on & off the buses all day long, really
easy to get around.
Wear comfy shoes if venturing out to the Metro Centre - it's massive!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked and statyed here for 3 nights. The first 2 we could not fault with food and service.

However on the third night we had cigarette smoke coming in through the bathroom vent. We had a poor nights sleep and as I suffer from Asthma this is not ideal.

I informed the reception in the morning and was told it was better that it was put through to the online guest relations team. At no point did he offer or tell the duty manager.

I have asked for a refund for this and failure to comply with this I will be reporting this to the Newcastle City Council.

I look forward to the reponse from the 'Guest Relations team'

Room Tip: Ask for a money back guarantee if your room is not smokefree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We do take smoking in the guest bedrooms very seriously and this carries a £100.00 charge I do wish you had let us know at the time then we could have dealt with the guest whilst in house. However please accept my sincerest apologies for the experience you had and I will make sure that your comments will be forwarded to the appropriate departments and be reviewed. Your comments are truly valuable, as this will give us an opportunity to look for areas to improve.
Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here with my partner as we were having a night out in Newcastle, room was clean, staff were freindly and it is in a very central location for all pubs and clubs.

When we arrived i was a bit worried about where to park the car but the man at reception told me that there was a car park right next to it (no charge if staying in Holiday Inn)

If you are going here for a night out its the place to be :-) Dont buy drinks in the hotel as they are very expensive.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would come again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight while we saw a show in Newcastle. The hotel is so close to the station, a 5 minute walk. It's clean, quiet and the beds are the best I've ever slept in! So comfortable! Wish I could've taken them home! Staff were friendly. Was perfect for an overnight stay. Would recommend and reuse it!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.