We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grey Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grey Street Hotel to your Saves list
Grey Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is in a really good central location, perfect for exploring Newcastle on foot.
Our room was very clean and modern, but the bedroom was quite small. I shared a twin room with a friend and the beds were pushed very close together. It has all the in-room facilities you'd expect from a 4 star hotel, and the staff were friendly and helped us with our queries. It's mainly the size of the room and a few little things, like the fact we didn't have a main light (just lots of lamps), that have stoped me giving the extra star for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel appreciate you taking the time to write this review and thank you for your kind words. We have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    143
    105
    63
    26
See reviews for
35
161
34
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent central Newcastle location - good for shopping, eating out and hitting the nightlife of the city.
A small group of us stayed for two nights for a girlie w.end - the staff were lovely and helpful. The rooms were spacious, clean, well equiped and well maintained - I think it was very good value for money.
The lady who looked after us at breakfast was lovely too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are very pleased to hear that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us and would return your custom in the future. We are very grateful for you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

The Grey Street Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Great location, room was spacious and had great freshly made food via room service but a bit tired, heating system supplemented by little heaters, costly wifi system and you have to go next door for food. Trying hard to be on trend but needs to do a bit more but good try. Good location and value for money means I would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would return your custom in the future. Unfortunately we have experienced some problems with our heating/air conditioning unit, however we are in the process of getting this fixed. We have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. Thank you for your feedback, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I had quite high expectations of the hotel as I had heard good things about it. On arrival the reception staff was very polite and the public areas are quiet impressive. We struggled to find our room as the floor plan is a bit confusing. When we found are room it too was as an odd layout too. The entrance and bathroom was upstairs on a mezzanine and the bedroom downstairs was quiet dark. The heating in the room was broke so the hotel had provided a little electric heater. This was inadequate as we found out during the night. It was so cold I spent most of the night trying to keep warm. We mentioned it the reception when we checked out and she said she would pass on the comments to the general manager. I think the hotel could do with a soft referb but it does offer good value for money.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay! We always welcome constructive feedback and have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. We have unfortunately been experiencing problems with our air conditioning/ heating units, however we are in the process of getting them fixed. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights weds and thurs, had a problem with the bed on wed night but after complaining that was soon sorted out for us. All staff are great and efficient. Only thing I would suggest is instead of guests having to ask for things like dressing gowns it would be better if they were just provided for you in the room ready. Love the fact that you have a dvd player and a choice of dvds to borrow if you want a nice quiet night in or just something to watch in bed. Thanks for a good few nights

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. We always welcome constructive feedback and have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. We hope to see you again soon, best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and I had no problems at all. I knew that noise could be an issue so I asked for a room on the top floor and I slept like a baby every night! The room and bathroom were very clean with a big comfortable king size bed. Fresh coffee and a selection of teas (including Earl Grey) were provided every day (no biscuits!). I had breakfast in my room and it was fine, hot and fresh. I went to the restaurant once and wasn´t impressed, aparently it isn't actually linked to the hotel so you can't get anything added to your bill. This meant a trip to my room to get my purse! Also I found it to be expensive, I ordered poached eggs and coffee, according to the menu that would be 4 pounds but when the bill came it was 6 pounds because the coffee isn´t included!! This isn´t made clear.

The downside, well in this day and age you should be able to get Wi Fi free but here you had to pay! They need to address this issue.

The staff were lovely and did everything they could to help, I asked for a chair as the poufe was too low to sit on comfortably at the desk/table and one was provided instantly. The housekeeping lady was very attentive, she knew I went shopping for an hour in the morning and she kept an eye out so that when I returned my room was cleaned.
It´s in a great location, near to all the shops and 2 minutes away from the Theatre Royal and Metro Station.

All in all I´d recommend this hotel, I've stayed in various hotels in Newcastle and I´ll be returning to this one in August (I hope!)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are very grateful for you to take the time to write this review. We always welcome constructive feedback and have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. We hope to see you again soon ... Hopefully in August!

Best wishes,
The Grey Street Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

As per prev review's room need a good deep clean and a lick off paint. Not worth the money very disappointed with this hotel.
No towel's in room had to ring reception no hot water in morning.
Furniture needs a good clean had to clean all tops in room because off the dust.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
The Grey Street Hotel are very sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We always welcome constructive feedback and have taken your comments into account to help improve our services in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grey Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 81 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grey Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grey Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.