We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely sunday roast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Poachers Pocket

The Poachers Pocket
Market Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Indian, International, European, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely sunday roast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

8 of us for sunday lunch including two young children.The food was served quickley decent portions and plenty of meat and veg. We all agreed it was best sunday pub roast we have had. kids portions were generous with home made chips and decent little play area outside. Only complaint were the puddings which were a bit stodgy one portion of sponge cake was too hard for my daughter to eat, we mentioned this to staff who apologised and immediately refunded us, also the decor is a bit outdated and drab.
Staff friendly and helpful
would definately go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad management ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great food, Great young friendly staff but bad management and this reflect throughout the full pub and needs sorted
Management are rude and unpleasant and I'm really pleased this bad example has not rubbed off on the younger staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“entire party happy whole experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We turned up on a whim for a night out. Without reservation our party of 5 were shown immediately to a table. We all had a reasonably priced drink whilst browsing the menu, which was extensive and there were also 4 or 5 daily specials. Our choices ranged from Gammon to Haddock and I opted for the unusually named unsociable combo ( which containing a mixture of prawns and chicken appears to be ). We waited a while but were extremly glad to have done so upon the serving of our delicious fare. Everyone in our company was happy with their choices and all commented on the excellence of their meals. All who opted for side salad commented on the freshness and quality. All in all a great experience which we will repeat again soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, fab chef, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I visit here regularly as the food is very good, good portions and very reasonably priced. I visited today and i was deffinately not disappointed. It was busy but the food came quickly and was very good. Can deffinately recommend this place the chef is excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. Just what you want.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ok but had better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Visited for Sunday lunch as we do every few months there was 3 of us order was 2 Sunday lunches 1 beef 1 Lamb and a mixed grill.
Mixed grill was masive as it always is and very nice no complants. Only complants we had where roast pots where soft & yorkshire puds small and soggy have def had better from here before.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Poachers Pocket also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Poachers Pocket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Poachers Pocket, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.