We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mile Castle

The Mile Castle
Westgate Road & Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5XU, England
+44 191 211 1160
Improve this listing
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Called for a late breakfast. Speedy service with a smile. Food was good and the coffee excellent. Pretty much what you'd expect. Just across from Newcastle Central Rail Station

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Decent Newcastle pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

A massive wetherspoons spread over 3 floors. Good selection of drinks. Toilets are immaculate. Seating can be hit and miss depending in how busy it is. Good place to start off in on a night out.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
581 reviews 581 reviews
152 attraction reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Called in here for lunch and was very impressed. It has a very extensive bar/lounge menu with all the usual pub classics, hot meals, light meals, paninis, toasties etc etc at extremely reasonable prices. My food arrived and it was not warm enough so I asked them to deal with this and I was very impressed with the apology and speed of replacing it. Every establishment has problems like this from time to tome but the response here was excellent. All staff were very friendly and efficient. The building does not look very 'cosy' from the outside, but once in there, it has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Also it is very conveniently situated within 5 minutes walk from Central station.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Price, Good Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went here after a disastrous attempt to have a curry at a local restaurant. Some of the party went to the Mile Castle to chill out and have a few drinks. Place was nice, the music was good and the staff and atmosphere was without fault.
We returned the next day for a meal and wasn't disappointed. The meals are large and the price is good. We only had to wait about 15mins before the food started to turn up, there were 9 of us and it took a short while to ferry the food over but they did end up enlisting two other staff members to help get it over quickly even though we had been told they were short staffed,
I couldn't fault anything, food, drink or the staff. Slightly larger tables would be useful but we managed without much hassle.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent prices excellent food never a let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wetherspoons is a low priced eatery and bar but i feel its more than that every time we visit we get excellent service the food is always brilliant the staff are always friendly and we sometimes choose it over many other venues for a nice sit down meal believe it or not its nice and cosy inside there are many different floors to choose to sit on. definatly worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mile Castle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Mile Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mile Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.