We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miah

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Miah
Lane Head Gateshead | Ryton Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE40 3HF, England
0191-413 9400
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have been fans of Miah and his delicious food for many years and were very sad when he decided to move on for his last restaurant but to our delight we have found his once more.
We visited last night and were welcomed like long lost friends by Miah and his wonderful team. The restaurant is small with about eight to ten tables so i would recommend booking especially if wanting to visit at the weekend, the tables are close to each other but we liked the cosy feeling of the place.
The food was as always, excellent, more spicy than i have had before but just as enjoyable, cant wait to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    5
    2
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A welcome addition to Ryton. Fantastic food with a warm welcome. I have been dining and taking out from the Miah since day one and have never been disappointed. Lamb Tikka Balti my current favourite, which I had last night with my 18 year old son who promptly announced that he was 'stuffed' after the meal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We have been to this restaurant 4 times now since it opened and just keep going back it is one of the best Indian restaurants I have ever been to. Both the food and service is 1st class, the staff treat you as if you were family. We have also had takeaway that is equally as good. Must try the King prawn dish it was like eating lobster.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Little gem in Ryton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Looked for an indian for a Monday night and found a little gem in Ryton. The food and service was excellent they coukd not be more attentive. The meal had great flavours and the menu's indication if heat was spot on. I would recommend to anyone in the local area or visiting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Brilliant restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Visited Miah restaurant last night after a few drinks in Wylam. We live nearby and have been meaning to visit for a while- and I'm so pleased we did! We got there at 10pm, the restaurant was empty after a busy early evening. We had poppadoms and chutneys, which were so tasty. Followed by chicken tikka bhuna and masalla- I am not usually a fan of creamy curries but this had a real kick and was devine! I'm a really picky eater so am so peased that we have such a good quality restaurant and take away on our doorstep.
Miah is very attentive- nothing too much trouble. Really lovely staff.
We will be going back as soon as we can, and will be spreading the word to our friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miah also viewed

Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Miah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.