We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would not return or recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pink Lane Coffee

Pink Lane Coffee
1 Pink Lane, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5DW, England
07841383085
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $16
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Ibiza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Definitely would not return or recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We waited way too long for our lattes; the table remained covered in dirty cups and plates all this time; when they did eventually arrive the lattes were cold (not much warmer than room temperature); they also tasted terrible; the total price for the two drinks was £5 - we expected a lot more for our money.


I think the turning point for writing this review came while reading the sunday papers, we had decided to snack on some graze products my girlfriend had found in her bag. A member of staff was quickly at our table informing us that we were only to consume products which had been bought on the premises - shame they weren't as speedy with the service. £5 for two coffees and we couldn't even snack on some peanuts!

Overall we found the place to have a rather pretentious vibe and we didn't feel comfortable throughout our visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    16
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quirky, rustic, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Quirky, rustic, friendly little place with delicious sandwiches and fabulous tea. Tucked around the corner from O'Neill's Pub opposite the station it's well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good coffee and food, decor needs improving.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This place was recommended to us by 'Trip Advisor' and also by a resident of Newcastle. It is easy to miss as it has a narrow frontage and is slightly set back. Once you know where to look (on the opposite side of the road and to the right) it is it is easily spotted from just outside the railway station. We called in for a light lunch and the paninis we had were tasty with unusual fillings. The barrister was friendly and knowledgable about the different coffees available. My initial impression was that it had only just opened and they were still in the process of renovating and decorating the place but no, it has been open for 18 months. In view of the quality of what is on offer, both consumables and service, I would urge the owner to improve the decor to reflect this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

great place to grab a coffee when in newcastle. very handy opposite the station.

guys really friendly and coffee is top draw.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Liquid Italian sunshine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The coffee is really good here, can't comment on the food as I didn't have any. I would also like to thank the reviewer who suggested buying a coffee at pink lane before catching a train......excellent advice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pink Lane Coffee also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Pink Lane Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pink Lane Coffee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.