We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Istanbul Cafe & Bistro

Istanbul Cafe & Bistro
19A Ridley Place Haymarket, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 8JN, England
+44 (0)191 261 0605
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We has been meaning to come here for a while as we love Turkey. It's greatest strength is it's authenticity, very friendly staff and value for money food.
Don't go here for luxury or an extensive menu. Go here to experience real Turkish food and drink in a a cafe style and friendly atmosphere! Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    17
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food with a modern twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stoped heat on route to the theatre, have been a number of times and just gets better and better.can't wait to visit again

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Simple & Filling.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I popped into the Istanbul Cafe after seeing one of those advertising boards for the umpteenth time and also hoping to find somewhere not too pricey close to my work that satisfied; I was not disappointed.

It looks a little daunting going in but move past this initial feeling and you won't be let down, the venue is as rustic as the food.

Not long after sitting down I was presented with a gratis basket of cut baguettes served with a hot (spicy) tomato based dip which I cooled my palate down with a very nice glass of ayran and also a further cooling delicious yogurt dip - both of which were so good I was offered more bread after my empty starter plate was taken away.

For a starter I had a simple but refreshing Cacik - seasoned yogurt with cucumber, not quite filling but certainly preparing me for my main - Vegetarian Moussaka. There aren't a lot of veggie options but the moussaka is very nice for what it is.

The service is quick and friendly - I was in and out within an hour for 2 courses, perfect timing for a lunchtime break; over all I paid £11 for my 2 courses and drink - just about right costing for me.

Certainly want to return again and recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere cheap and satisfying who works close to Haymarket.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“QTR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014


I've have visited Istanbul quite a few times and without exception each experience has left me wanting to go back again soon.
The menu is great and whether you are going as a solo or a group the food is perfect. Highly recommended :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were on our way to the theatre but were desperate for something to eat having already wasted 30 minutes looking for somewhere decent around Newcastle's main shopping area. Resigned to settling for the nearest Wetherspoons we saw the Istanbul sign down a side street and decided to give it a try.

What a gem! While the entrance was very unprepossessing, some wonderful smells pulled us up several flights of stairs before reaching the small and very busy little restaurant. It was only a short wait for a table to be cleared before we were sat down with a great view of the kitchen. The menu was reassuringly small and interesting but we both chose from the board, a grilled sea bass on salad for me and lamb goulash with rice for my partner. I bemoaned the lack of carbohydrate but the waiter reassured me that he would sort something out. A basket of bread and two bowls of dip, one fiery red, the other cool and yoghurt based were set out and we ordered the house humus.

Not wanting to spoil the fish meant avoiding the hot dip but it was reported to be excellent as was the humus. Meanwhile we could see our meal being freshly cooked, only moderately distracted by the Turkish satellite streaming a middle eastern version of 'You've been framed!" As befits a good Halal restaurant only non-alcoholic refreshments were available and a large bottle of fizzy water was reasonably priced.

The main course were delicious, the fish char-grilled and perfectly cooked. A simple salad but the addition of a bowl of buttered rice with pine nuts provided the necessary carbs! The lamb goulash was just as good, full of tender peppers, potatoes and other veg and very tasty lamb, also with a bowl of the rice.

Even if we didn't have to get off to the theatre we would have been too full for dessert, although the two chunks of complementary turkish delight couldn't be resisted.

Service was quick and friendly and the head waiter went out of his way to be helpful and informative. Next time we're in Newcastle looking for a quick but tasty meal, this will be our first stop. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Cafe & Bistro also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Istanbul Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Istanbul Cafe & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.