We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Mark Toneys!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour

Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour
Grainger Street, Newcastle upon Tyne, England
0191 232 7794
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Ice Cream, Café, Family Fare, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dessert
Description: Traditional cafe and ice cream parlour, run by the Marcantonio family, who have been making ice cream in Newcastle since the late 19th century.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“I love Mark Toneys!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Been going here for years, and I think it is exactly the same as it always has been! MT does a wide array of savoury products, including sausage rolls, pork pies, fresh quiches and made to order sandwiches and rolls, as well as more substantial meals, home made puddings, cakes such as lemon meringue pie and blackberry slices, and the usual soft and hot drinks one would find in a cafe.

I always order a freshly made sandwich, normally the cheese savoury, and this time, as ever, I was not disappointed! What really makes Mark Toneys special is the range and quality of ice creams that they offer. Proper Italian white ice cream can be served as a knickerbocker glory, banana split, Strawberry delight, strawberry skyscraper... of one of many other sundaes made with fruit, cream, nuts, wafers and sauce, or just simply on its own to enjoy with a squirt of raspberry sauce as my Mum likes it. Yum yum!

The interior of Mark Toneys has seen better days, it is 50 years old... And it shows! But I think something would be lost if it were re-vamped and modernised to be honest, part of its charm is its old school diner type look! Visit soon and have an ice cream, miss out at your peril!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a cooked vegetarian breakfast on my visit and it really was wonderful. it set me up for the day. The lady who took our order was friendly and kind. Mark Toneys food really is magnificent and when ever i visit the North East i try to pop in

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Owner at Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and hope you find time to visit us again when you are next in Newcastle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not as good as the one on Percy St”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've been going to the one on Percy St since I was little - for me Mark Toney's always reminds me of my Mam and Dad taking me for a banana split.
I walked past here today and my Dad and I popped in, cause we've not visited this one before.
It was a bit disappointing that the only two Sundae's we wanted (Black Magic and Butterscotch Sundae) were not on - but we tried something different and it was nice.
The place is in a dire need of a lick of paint.
It also didn't feel as welcoming as the one on Percy St - so I think if I go back to Mark Toney's, I'll play it safe and go to that one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Owner at Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, it always helps to get the views of a regular. We are sorry that the sundaes you chose were not available on the day of your visit, but glad that you were able to find something else to enjoy from our long list of sundaes! We always decorate our cafes in the spring, so you should see a difference on your next visit, and we offer you a warm welcome in whichever one you choose, be it Percy Street, Grainger Street or Grainger Arcade, although people obviously have their own favourites - just like our sundaes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cafe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This cafe looks great when you walk in with sandwiches and cakes on display in cabinets, they look delightful. Once you give your order and pay you can choose any seat in the house. The service was very slow with some in my group including myself waiting too long for what we had ordered. Even though it is just a cafe it should run smoother and quicker than it did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Owner at Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our cafe. We are sorry that you felt you were kept waiting too long, however we have taken your comments on board and will try to speed up our service where possible. If you visit Newcastle again we hope you will be tempted to give us another try, and thank you for your kind comments about our delightful display of sandwiches and cakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“warm welcome on a cold day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

After shopping on a freezing cold day in Newcastle last week,my friend and I went into Mark Toney's in Grainger Street. Usually we have a sandwich and a coffee but we needed warming up, so we chose soup from their extensive menu. We weren't disappointed - it was hot and delicious - and great value - just what we needed after trudging round in the snow .
Then, as I can't resist a dessert, I had a slice of apple pie with of course some of Mark Toney's famous ice cream. My friend is counting calories so she settled for a large cup of black coffee.
Needless to say we were reluctant to go out of such a warm atmosphere into the cold again. We always visit Grainger Street when we are shopping in Newcastle. I have never written a review before but It hought that the warm friendly service we had and the excellent food deserved a mention.

P&A Ryton

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne M, Owner at Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind comments, your soup and apple pie were both made fresh in our cafe by our lovely staff, so they are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mark Toney Cafe and Ice Cream Parlour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.